Pretty Serious: Rainy Days Collection

This collection has been out for a while now. I think it released back in late June (2017, that is … in case there was any question … *ahem*). But it’s new to me. And I love it. And so, here we are! Hangin’ out on the blog! Woo Hoo!

The Rainy Days Collection has 6 gorgeously moody creme polishes. They are a little bit muted, a little bit dusty, and a whole lotta perfect. As the collection name suggests, all the polish names relate to something dealing with rain or, well, rainy days. Wow … great explanation there, right? Ha! I’m originally from the Texas Hill Country, and it doesn’t rain there very often. Until I moved to Virginia, where it rains frequently, I didn’t even own an umbrella … or rain boots … or a rain jacket. And so, I love rainy weather. Love it! The idea of a whole collection based around rain and rainy days was too good to pass up, and I decided to grab these during my second round of Pretty Serious sale shopping. (Totally off topic, but that sale was epic. Epic!! Happy memories. *sigh*)

Today, I have 5 of the 6 polishes to share. Pluviophile, which is a red-purple-mauve-ish taupe, was sold out. I hope to grab this one in the future, when the Pretty Serious site is back up and running. As for the rest of the collection, it is full of gray and blue tones. This is right up my alley. It’s so perfect for me. This whole collection gives me a peaceful and happy feeling. Enough of my rambling. On with the polish pictures!

ps-misty2-sm

Misty is a muddy, muted greenish-blue. I see some similarities with a Tiffany Blue, but this isn’t as bright. The formula is great. It’s opaque in two easy coats.

I love everything about this polish! The color tone is calm and peaceful. It looks gorgeously creamy on the nail. This is one of those colors that reads neutral to me, even though it’s a blue-green and not what you might automatically think of when you think “neutral”. Well, for me, anyhow. When I think “neutral”, my mind generally goes right to brown, gray, black, or white tones. But this is beautifully muted. This one is calm and a bit sophisticated, which would make it wearable for many occasions. I can see myself getting a ton of wear out of this polish. It seems perfect for every season, and I think this polish would be beautiful on a variety of skin tones.

ps-cloudburst2-sm

Cloudburst is a slightly dusty, aqua-leaning teal. I feel this color is darker than an aqua but lighter than a teal. A “cloudburst” is a sudden and violent rainstorm. It’s one of those words that seems fairly self-descriptive, but I thought I would toss the meaning in there, just in case. The formula is fabulous. It was opaque for me in 2 super easy coats. I could have almost gotten away with 1, if I had gone slightly thicker.

Ugh. I love this. I freaking LOVE it. I’m going to sound like a broken record all through this post, because I love all of these. But there ‘ya go. To me, this one looked very similar to Misty when I put the bottles side by side. But this one is quite a bit different and darker on the nail. This is another super wearable and enjoyable color for me. I like that it has decent contrast with my skin tone, but it also has a calm and peaceful feeling to it. It’s very pretty and creamy on the nail.

ps-overcast2-sm

Overcast is a brown-toned gray. I think of this color tone as being right in between taupe and gray. The color reminds me of how the sky looks on overcast, cloudy fall and winter days. The formula is great. It’s smooth, creamy, and opaque in 2 easy coats.

I love grays, in general. But these types of muted, brown-grays are my jam. I adore them. This color is a perfect balance between light and dark tones, and I feel like it’s going to be super wearable for me. It’s another fabulous neutral — perfect for pretty much any season, any outfit, any social setting. And I think it will be beautiful on a lot of different skin tones.

ps-petrichor2-sm

Petrichor is a grayed-out navy or royal blue. It almost looks cadet blue to me, but I feel it has a bit more blue in the mix. “Petrichor” is the name for how rain smells. How awesome is that? I love that smell, but never knew it had an actual name. Truthfully, I never gave it much thought — ha, ha! The formula for this beauty is great. It is opaque in 2 easy-peasy coats.

It’s hard to pick, but I think this one is my favorite from the collection. I love this tone of blue. It’s beautifully muted but still unmistakably, right on the edge of vibrant, blue. I find this color to be so soothing. It puts me right into my happy place, and I love seeing it on fingers and on my toes. Ugh. It’s so perfect, I think I want to scream. I kinda want to put it on my nails right now. Rawr!!

ps-precipitation2-sm

Precipitation is a bright and vivid teal that, at least to my eye, leans heavily toward blue. The formula is good. This is pretty much a 1-coater, although I believe I used 2 for my swatch picture.

This is my second favorite from the collection. It is really, incredibly gorgeous and bright on the nail. I didn’t have any problems with staining, although I haven’t yet worn this in a full manicure. I applied it for my swatch picture and, then, took it off again pretty much right away. I didn’t have any staining on the skin around my nails or on my cuticles. Even so, I will probably double-up on base coat when I finally wear this one in a full mani.

OVERALL THOUGHTS:

I loved pretty much everything in this collection. I say “pretty much” because I wasn’t able to get Pluviophile into my grabby hands, which makes me oh-so-sad. At first, I didn’t much care about missing out on it, but, after swatching the rest of this collection, I found I really, really wanted Pluviophile, too. I’m sure it is as gorgeously awesome as the rest of these beautiful cremes.

I love that this whole collection is straight-up creme in finish. I love a good creme polish, but I think it’s easy to get used to seeing all kinds of glitter-holo-sparkle-bling craziness, especially from indie polish makers. This isn’t a bad thing at all! I love me some glitter-holo-sparkle-bling-bling. But I think it’s easy to forget just how incredible a fabulous creme can be. And these are just … fabulous. Beyond fabulous. I still can’t get over how fantastic each formula is for these. And every color is rich, beautifully saturated, and elegant. Needless to say, I’m a fan!

 

 

 


2 thoughts on “Pretty Serious: Rainy Days Collection

  1. I didn’t realize you’d picked up most of this collection in your PS buying binge! Very nice and it seemed less than appealing in the USA summer when it was released in Aussie winter… But today as it’s raining outside it seems perfect. I really love Precipitation. I also love the names/words Petrichor and Pluviophile (lover of rain). I didn’t know those words but they are handy where I live. Pretty Serious is back up as of today but right now, I don’t see these polishes mentioned on their site at all, even with an Out of Stock notation, so unfortunately they may be gone forever. Maybe you can pick up the last one in a destash.

    Like

    1. Oh, poo. I was really hoping to get Pluviophile, too. I can live without it (of course — it’s “just” nail polish, ha ha!), but it makes me sad thinking I might not be able to get it. I’m glad I got all the “blue” ones, though. Because this is me, and I’m all about the blues. I agree the collection feels more fall/winter to me. I’m so glad I got the ones that I did!

      Like

Leave a comment