My Week in Nails

Oh, yeah! It’s Friday again. I’m really glad the weekend is here at last. Even though we are technically still in “summer” for another couple of weeks, my daughter has already started marching band practice. They are working hard out in the heat every day from 8 AM to 5 PM, which means everyone at our house is back on a school schedule already. Where has my Summer gone? Argh!

I hadn’t done a water marble in a while — at least a month, maybe two. So this week kind of ended up being a nail art week. I recently invested in liquid latex, and I’ve been a water marbling maniac this week. I love doing marbles, although they are a bit time consuming. Even with the latex, it takes a while and a decent amount of concentration for me to get one of these done. I watch so many YouTube water marble videos, and those gals make it look super easy. I can only hope to have that type of mad skill one day. In the meantime, practice makes perfect, right? Right!

marble-opi-koalaberry-exoticbirds-notanlines-sm

For my first marble this week, I wanted to do something fun, bright, and kind of summery feeling. You know, because it’s still Summer. I don’t care what my daughter’s school district says! I wanted a warm-toned mixture, so I used OPI: Mad for Madness Sake, Exotic Birds Do Not Tweet, and No Tan Lines. Considering this was my first attempt at using liquid latex, I was pleased with how well clean-up went. I’ve been trying to step up my clean-up game with water marbling, although I don’t think it’s ever going to be a perfect thing. But, I think the liquid latex helped a lot. I’ve become fond of linear patterns, and I was pleased with how this one came out. I felt like there was a lot of motion within the design.

Sadly, when I looked at my nails the next day, all I could see was … ketchup and mustard. Womp-womp. Even though it’s a nice, warm, and summery color combination, I would have to say it wasn’t a favorite of mine, in the end — ha, ha.

marble-opi-eursoeuro-dogsledhybrid-greencometrue-poboy-suziwopaddle-sm

So I didn’t leave my “fast food mani” on for very long. The next day was cloudy, rainy, and a little bit chilly. So I decided to try a different marble using more cool tones. This is with OPI: Suzi Without a Paddle, Green Come True, Skull & Glossbones, Rich Girls & Po Boys, My Dogsled is a Hybrid, and Eurso Euro. Whew! That was a lot! I’m not sure what I was thinking using so many colors in one marble, but I wanted a good mix of lights and darks in both the blues and greens.

I used a linear pattern again, and I was pretty happy with how this one turned out. I love the color combination. These colors are right up my alley. Also, they all marbled really well. Every one of these polishes seemed to sit on the water for forever without drying or getting thick, except for Green Come True, which was the darker green. I’ve marbled with it before, and it worked great. This time, it started out great, but then began drying about mid-way through my manicure. Not a huge deal, although it was annoying. I adjusted when I dropped in the darker green so that I could still get some color variation in the design. Sadly, I dented a couple of nails before I got my picture. It wasn’t noticeable in real life, but the camera sees all. Wooooo — that sounds pretty creepy.

art-stamping-opiicelanded+white-sm

My next manicure used OPI, Icelanded a Bottle of OPI for the base. I stamped it with white stamping polish using a design from one of my new stamping plates. I ended up loving this manicure. I like the color tone of Icelanded. It’s a great brown — not too light, not too dark. And I liked how graphic the white design looked against the brown. Fun design to do and to wear!

marble-opiskull&glossbones-cg-throneinshade+dopetaupe-zoyadebbie-sm

This is my manicure today! I made a swatch wheel  yesterday comparing different browns. And that swatch wheel made me so darn happy. It reminded me of how much I love brown polish, and I decided I wanted to do an ombre sort of marble using all brown tones. For this one, I used OPI, Skull & Glossbones, China Glaze: Dope Taupe and Throne-in Shade, and Zoya, Debbie. I topped everything off with some Fairy Dust for a little extra sparkle. Because a gal needs sparkle. Am I right?

Oh my gosh, but I love this manicure. I love it!! I’m so happy with how the design turned out. I was able to get the lines close together, which doesn’t always happen. Close lines means more design and motion on the nail, and I think this makes a linear pattern really fun and striking. I love how the browns all work together, and how some look more gray, while others look almost black. It’s like melted chocolate on my nails. Love it!!

And that’s it for this week. I really enjoyed getting my water marble on, that’s for sure!!

4 thoughts on “My Week in Nails

      1. Yeah, it’s definitely the way the colors combined together. There is something mysterious about water marble. You never know exactly what you are going to get. LOL

        Like

Leave a Reply

