Nail Mail: Pretty Serious!

Color me super excited because I have another nail mail post for Nail Mail Monday. Yay!! I’ve had these sitting around for a bit, although I only got to try them last week. This package arrived while I was still on vacation, and I was so, so, so excited about getting home to try these babies out.

As the title suggests, today is a Pretty Serious fest. I’ve heard so many fantastic things about this indie brand, but this is my first foray into trying their polishes for myself. I finally caved in to temptation because they are having a huge clearance/rebranding sale on their website. Everything is 40-80% off. Wha-aaaaaat?!?!?! How can a nail polish junkie pass up something like that? Well, they can’t. That’s how. Needless to say, I went a little nutsy-cuckoo. I ordered 8 polishes in my first order. I loved them all so much that I went back for a second order, which I haven’t received yet.

I got a pretty mixed bag, color-wise, in this first order. But I think everything is shimmery or glittery in some fashion. Overall, I was absolutely blown away by every polish in my order. There wasn’t a dud in the bunch, which is amazing! I’ll talk about each formula a bit further as we go along, but as an overview: every formula was fabulous. I found I liked the bottle shape a lot. I tend to lay my hand flat on my desk and cradle the polish bottle in the space between my thumb and index finger while I manicure. The Pretty Serious bottle fits in that space perfectly. It was comfortable to hold. The bottle caps are a great shape, so they are comfortable for me to hold, as well. I liked the brush size. I found it neither too big nor too small.

ps-box3-sm

This was the vision of loveliness that awaited me when I tore into my box. And, believe me, I did tear right in. There was cardboard flying everywhere! OK, not really. But there was a lot of squealing. I loved how all the polishes were nestled down into the box in all this tissue paper. It made me feel like I was opening up a special gift that had a good dose of vampiness. What could be more perfect? Each polish comes in its own little box. I didn’t take a picture of any of the individual boxes, but each one has adorable artwork on it. I love these!!

ps-jackfrost2-sm

Jack Frost Cocktail Crush Topcoat is originally from the Holiday 2016 The Ghosts of Christmas Past Collection. This is a gorgeously shimmery and sparkly topper with silver micro glitters and larger iridescent glitters that look green or blue, depending on the light and/or the base polish color. It might be possible to get this one opaque on its own, as it’s fairly packed with the silvery glitters. But I feel like it would use a lot of product. And this one is so, so good that I don’t want to use it up too quickly. I used 1 coat over OPI’s Lincoln Park at Midnight.

I’m not always one for toppers, but this one is fantastic. I really like the icy mix of silvery glitters with the larger iridescent ones. And the blue-green look of those iridescent glitters on the nail absolutely floors me. It’s the perfect, sparkly, sugary look. It really does remind me of a wintery cocktail. I love this over a darker base color, but I think it would also be beautiful over a light blue or a white. Over white, it would look oh-so wintery and snowy. So, so, so pretty!!! It makes me want to scream and do illegal things.

ps-luminousdoom2-sm

Luminous Doom is a light purple / lilac crelly base packed with turquoise or aqua glitter. According to the information I found on the inter webs, this polish was originally a Facebook fan group exclusive. It was for sale on their site during the clearance, so I’m not sure if my info is accurate or not. But, whatever the case, I was able to grab this pretty baby and run for the hills. Yaaaaas!! Victory!! The formula for this one is pretty perfect. It applies easily and was opaque in 2 coats.

I love this color combination. I find it unique within my collection, as well as unexpected. It’s really pretty and sort of springy, in a way. But it’s also kind of on the verge of a “pretty ugly” thing. And it’s kind of wintery, too, because of the cool color tones and the icy sparkle of the glitter. Or maybe I’m making that up because I’ve totally skipped Fall and am jonesing in my heart for winter already. Ha! I love the sparkle that comes off the glitters. I love the formula. Basically, I love everything about this.

ps-davyjoneslacquer2-sm

Davy Jones’s Lacquer is an aqua or turquoise base that is packed with silvery shimmer. I think there is a scattering of holographic glitter in here, too. This is another that, according to the internet, was originally a Facebook fan group exclusive. Again, I fell in love with it on the site and tossed it into my cart during the sale, so I might be wrong about the release or collection information. The formula for this polish is pretty much perfect. It was easy to apply, and opaque in 1-2 coats. I used two for my picture, but I probably could have been done in 1 if I had done slightly thicker coats.

This is Beautiful. It’s the kind of beautiful that makes me happy sigh and run out of words so that I just sit and stare at it. I love the color tone. It’s soft and peaceful and shimmery and absolutely gorgeous on the nail. I love it.

ps-kheprisamulet1-sm

Khepri’s Amulet is part of the Nailentology Collection. This polish is hard for me to describe, color-wise. It’s not quite green, not quite teal, and not quite blue … and yet, it’s all of those colors rolled into one. There are slight color shifts as the light hits the nail from different angles. There is a nice dose of gold shimmer tossed in. It doesn’t look gold to me in the bottle, but there is a definite hint of golden warmth on the nail. The formula is perfection. It’s a bit sheer, but even. It was easily opaque in two coats, although I loved it in 3 because the color deepened up quite a lot.

ps-kheprisamulet+opiblackonyx-sm

Alternatively, you could wear this one over black. It pops beautifully jewel-toned over a black base. I used 2 coats over OPI, Black Onyx. And I was in love with the results and the look. So, so gorgeous.

Sooooooo … I posted my Week in Nails a few days ago, and you guys already know that I have a serious love affair going with this polish. I could wear this polish constantly without tiring of it or getting bored. It is magical and mesmerizing on the nail. I love, love, love it. Argh! LOVE IT!!!!! *.*

ps-yuletideofthemachines2-sm

Yuletide of the Machines is originally from the Holiday 2015 Ghosts of Christmas Future Collection. It is a beautifully bright, almost coppery-looking gold. The formula is fantastic. It is easy to apply and opaque in 2 coats.

You know me and gold. I love gold nail polish. I have scads of it. But I can hardly ever pass up a good one. And this is a good one. I love the deep and rich color tone of it. It rides the line between gold, copper, and brass. It’s beautifully warm and honey-toned. It looks deliciously rich and elegant on the nail. And I love the steampunk vibe to this polish. I recently got a stamping plate that has a gears design on it. I can’t wait to try that over this polish. I think it will be gorgeous and fun!

ps-happyaccident1-sm

Happy Accident is a limited edition, lab error shade. It’s listed on the Pretty Serious site, color-wise, as falling between Disc of the Heavens and Stupid Cupid. From looking at the online picture, it seems to be more blue than Disc and more green than Stupid Cupid. The formula is good. It was somewhat streaky on the first coat, but evened out well. It was opaque in 2 coats.

I think most people would call this a minty color, but it doesn’t feel that way to me. It doesn’t have that edge to it that I see in most minty polishes. Or, I guess I should say the edge I see in the minty polishes I dislike. Because I actually like this polish a lot. The color is pretty on the nail — delicate and light, but not overwhelming. Perhaps I’m crazy, but I feel like this polish manages to be cool and warm at the same time. There’s a good amount of shimmer in here, too, which probably helps my lovey-lust feelings along. I am part magpie, after all!

ps-forbiddenzone2-sm

Forbidden Zone is from the 2016 Post Apocalyptic Princess (part 2) Collection. This is a red jelly/crelly base packed with different sizes of gold and red glitters. Some of the glitter pieces were pretty large. You can see one of them on the tip of my ring finger nail, above. I didn’t find I needed to do much manipulation to get the glitters evenly over my nail. But it is a dense polish. These glitters are packed to the brim! The formula is fabulous on this one. It dries textured because of the glitters, but it was opaque in 2 easy coats.

I love this polish. It’s stunning on the nail. There is a LOT going on in here, so this one might not be for the faint of heart. But if you love glittery things, this is definitely the polish for you. The color combination floors me. I love how the red base interacts with the glitter colors to give you shades of fuchsia, copper, rose gold, and deeper reds. It’s a rich and luxurious color combination. And there is so much depth to this polish. It looks different in every light, so wearing it is a fun experience.

ps-wishyouwerebeer2-sm

And, finally, we have Wish You Were Beer, which is a 2017 Road to Polish Con polish. This has a bronzey-coppery-amber jelly base, and it’s packed to the brim with holographic micro glitters. The formula is perfect. It is smooth and easy to apply. It has great coverage, and is almost opaque in 1 coat. I went with 2 for full opacity in my picture.

This polish is the reason I jumped into the pool and ordered from Pretty Serious. It’s the only polish I purchased that wasn’t on sale, but I knew I NEEDED it the very moment I saw it. Everything is perfect about this polish. The color. The glitter. The name! If I wore beer on my nails, I am fully convinced it would look just like this. Wait — What am I saying? It wouldn’t be nearly as pretty! I am head over heels in love with this beauty. It really is beyond perfection, and I’m confident I will get a lot of wear from it. I shall also think of my dad whenever I wear this polish. Because he loves beer.

So that’s a wrap for my first Pretty Serious haul. I think it shall be the first of many. As I mentioned in my opening paragraphs, I already made a second order to take further advantage of the amazing sales prices. I loved everything in my order. There wasn’t one thing about which I was lukewarm. Nope! I was all in. Woo Hoo! After this first pass through the brand, it’s safe to say I am a fan. I’ve already dedicated a whole storage drawer to future Pretty Serious purchases. Now, that’s “Pretty Serious”, indeed!

 

2 thoughts on “Nail Mail: Pretty Serious!

  1. New love is so great LOL 🙂

    I was surprised you got Happy Accident? Glad you ended up liking the shade. And Wish You Were Beer is stunning, I can see why you ordered another.

    I remember seeing someone swatch the Jack Frost Cocktail Crush (I think there was a Mojito topper too?) and I thought they were all really, really pretty!!!

    Like

    1. I’m totally in love with the Jack Frost! It’s so pretty. I want to try it over so many colors. LOL

      Yeah … Happy Accident snuck up on me. I was surprised that I wanted it. At first, I passed it by, but I kept coming back to it. Surprisingly, I really like it. It feels to me like it only has a touch of “mint” to it.

      Oh my gosh. Wish You Were Beer … is so, so, so good. I could even sit and stare at the pictures of it for hours. Totally silly of me. Ha, ha!

      I’m not sure when my second order will come. It’s been so long, and it hasn’t even shipped yet. They are super far behind from the sale, which I totally understand. But it’s still frustrating. ‘Cuz I wanna see my new pretties!

      Like

Leave a Reply

