Swatch My Stash! OPI #8: Still the Blues

I think this post should mostly wrap up my OPI blues! I say “mostly”, because I have some new polishes I purchased while I was out of town. Plus, I have part of the Iceland Collection coming, hopefully one day soon. And there are always the odd stragglers that you think you’ve gotten but then figure out you missed entirely. I’m honestly not sure how to handle all the new and new-to-me things that didn’t make it into this first round of swatching. At the moment, I’m leaning toward doing a “stragglers” post or two, depending on how many there are, at the tail end of my entire OPI series. It would mix in all colors together, but I’m not sure if it’s the best way of doing things. Maybe I will come up with some genius idea or something! I’m not holding my breath on this, however. And neither should you.

For now, let’s get on with the blues! I have 7 to show in this post, and I think there are some good ones. I’m so excited! EEEK! I love blue! *.*

opi-yogatagetthisblue-sm

Yoga-ta Get This Blue is from the Spring 2008 India Collection. It is a gorgeously deep navy with a turquoise shimmer. The formula for this polish is pretty much perfect. It nearly applies itself, and I used 2 coats for opacity. I could have almost been done in 1 coat if I had gone in a bit thicker in my application.

Need I say it? I love love love love love this one. Just look at it! It’s so rich and deep, but it’s also mysteriously sparkly. I love it on my tips. I love it on my toes. And it also water marbles beautifully. (Although I don’t marble with it very often because it uses up too much polish!) This one is a total keeper. Forever and ever.

opi-roadhouseblues-sm

Road House Blues is from the Fall 2011 Touring America Collection. It is a rich, super dark and dusty blue. I feel like I can see some deep purple undertones sneaking in around the edges on this one. The formula for this polish is nice. It applies easily and was opaque in two easy coats.

I’m such a sucker for these “almost-black” types of polishes. I can’t keep my hands off of them. And this one is no exception. I love the dark moodiness this polish has. It’s a keeper!

opi-hesmysurfinginstructor-sm

He’s My Surfing Instructor is (I think) a re-release of Last Friday Night, which was originally from the Katy Perry Collection. This is a slightly chunky and very sparkly blue glitter polish. The base is tinted ever so slightly, and the glitters are iridescent. The formula for this one is good. The base isn’t too heavy or thick. This lovely is definitely a topper. I applied 3 coats on its own to my middle finger and pinky. As you can see, it’s never going to be opaque on its own. It looks really pretty over a darker color.

This topper is pretty and sparkly. It has a delicate appearance, and it pops beautifully over a darker color. Because of the slight tinting to the base, I don’t think this one would work well over white, although I didn’t try it that way. I’m pretty on the fence about this one. I think I’ve mentioned a few dozen times that I don’t feel like I reach for toppers all that much. I have a few indie ones I love, all of which have iridescent glitters. But this one is really pretty and delicate. Argh! This is hard! As I sit here and type this, I’m leaning toward destashing this one. But I might change my mind. I’m weak, I tell ‘ya. Weak!!

opi-suziwithoutapaddle-sm

Suzi Without a Paddle is from the Spring 2017 Fiji Collection. It is a soft, extremely pastel baby blue. The formula was pretty terrible. I hate writing that. I always wonder if it was just my bottle. But … there you have it. The formula is thin and watery. It streaks like nobody’s business, and you have to use basically no pressure on the brush to get the polish even. And then, it takes at least 3 coats! I remember doing a review of this collection, including this polish, a few months ago. And I tried hard to be nice by saying the formula was decent but you had to work hard for the manicure. You know what? I was totally wrong, and I apologize. At the time I did that review, I had only swatched this polish once. After wearing this one in a manicure and swatching it again for this project, I’ve realized you have to work exceedingly hard to get a decent mani from this polish. It’s really frustrating. So, yeah: final verdict is that the formula isn’t great. Or even good.

Okay, so with that little mea culpa out of the way … is this one a keeper? Honestly, I am on the fence about it. It should be easy to destash because the formula ended up frustrating me so badly when I wore it in a full manicure. But I love this color. I love how whited out and soft it looks on the nail. I’m leaning toward saying bye to this one, though. I have other light blues that could stand in its place, even if they aren’t exactly the same shade or tone.

opi-doyouseawhatisea-sm

Do You Sea What I Sea? is from the Spring 2017 Fiji Collection. It is a vibrant and shimmery mid-tone blue. The formula isn’t bad on this one. It doesn’t streak or pull, but it is quite sheer. I needed 3 coats for my picture.

I pretty  much adore this one. I love the finish on the nail. It looks like blown glass. And the tone of blue is vibrant and gorgeous. It has a very spring/summer feel to me. It’s a keeper!

opi-supertropicalifijiistic-sm

Super-Tropi-Cali-Fiji-Istic is also from the Spring 2017 Fiji Collection. This is a beautifully vibrant blue creme. The formula is good, and this polish is extremely pigmented. I have gotten this opaque in 1 coat, but I like how 2 makes the color a little richer.

There’s not a lot to say about this one. It has a terrible name but a fantastic formula and is a gorgeous color. It’s right up my alley, so I’m keeping this one for now.

opi-jeaniusatwork-sm

Jean’ius At Work is a bright cyan blue. I think it’s from an Ulta exclusives collection, although I didn’t find much information about it online. The formula for this polish was horrible. It was streaky, too thick, and gloopy all at the same time. I ended up having to do 2 coats on some fingers and 3 on others. I wonder if I got a wonky bottle or something.

I actively hated this polish. That’s not something that happens very often, especially with blues! Applying this was one of the most frustrating manicure experiences I’ve had in a long time. I still can’t believe how much trouble I had with it. I’ve already destashed this one. I had purchased it shortly before I left on vacation. I took it to Texas with me to wear while I was there, and I left it down there. My mom might want to wear it on her toes or something. As for me … I can’t even look at you, blue polish. *dramatic sigh*

And, that’s a wrap for my OPI blues! Wow! I can’t believe we’ve managed to get through all of them. (Except for the stragglers, of course.) I knew I probably had more blues than anything else, but I still felt surprised at the sheer number of them. And I also surprised myself with a few destash decisions along the way. Later, I hope to compare blues across brands, so more of these might end up going to new homes.

Next week, I’ll be starting in on my purples. We’re closing in on the finish line here. There’s still a ways to go, but I can at least see it in the distance.

 

 

Leave a Reply

