Tuesday Untrieds #18

I can’t believe it’s Tuesday again. The time seems to fly by! In some ways I feel like the month of July has gone by in a nice, slow, lazy way. This is not a negative for me! I wanted a bit of slowing down in my life, so it has been perfect. In other ways, it feels like the month has rocketed past me at super sonic speed. My trip to Texas and visit with my parents is quickly coming to an end. My daughter and I will head home to Virginia this coming Saturday. I think the last week will go quickly, especially the last day. I’m sure the last day will rush by in a frenzy of packing. I’m a last minute packer all the way!

But enough about me. Let’s look at some random polish. Woo Hoo!

orly-dontlassomearound-sm

Orly Colorblast, Don’t Lasso Me Around is from the 2016 Wonder Woman Collection. This is a lovely gold metallic with a foil finish. It’s a toned-down gold color, which I think of as “old” gold. The formula for this one is good. There were no brush strokes to speak of, thanks in large part to the foil finish. It applies easily and smoothly, and it was opaque in 2 easy coats.

I am fond of gold polish. As a result, I have quite a bit of it. I seem to gravitate toward it, and I’m always picking it up here and there. I’m not sure I have many (or any? I would have to check) that are this particular tone of gold. I like that it is metallic but also muted, in a way. It’s not bright or brassy, but it looks rich and pretty on the nail. I like the finished appearance on the nail once it’s dry. And the formula is pretty terrific. I think this one is a keeper for now. I may end up destashing it later, depending on what I find when I start comparing all of my golds across brands. In particular, this polish reminds me a bit of Zoya’s Ziv, but I think Ziv might be brighter.

fp-wildabouthue-sm

Fingerpaints, Wild About Hue is a light, silvery-gray blue. I thought I saw a shimmer in some lighting, but I’m not sure. If it’s there, it’s not at all prominent on the nail. The formula is okay. It’s not great, but it also isn’t terrible. It leveled out, but the brush tended to leave low spots if I applied any pressure at all. Because of this, I needed 3 coats for full opacity.

I’m on the fence about this polish. It’s such a pretty color. I mean, look at that light blue gorgeousness! It’s right up my alley. But … The formula. Ugh. I used top coat in my picture, but there were definite ridges in the polish before I applied it. I think the top coat leveled things out nicely, overall. Also, I tend to buy a lot of polishes that are this color. I’m leaning toward destashing it.

cnd-waterpark-sm

CND Vinylux, Waterpark is a medium-toned, bright blue with a silver shimmer. The formula for this one was pretty terrible. Maybe I got a bad/old bottle. I bought it on clearance. This polish was lumpy and streaky at the same time. It looks thick and lumpy on the nail because the polish applies in such a mess. It was nearly impossible to get it even. I didn’t write down how many coats I needed for full opacity. It was probably 2, but I had to fight for it every step of the way.

This is such a pretty color. And it doesn’t look bad at all in my picture,which is a surprise. I love how this blue is watery and clear/bright. But … But!! I hate this polish. I just hate it. I even drew a frowny face next to this one in my little book where I take notes about the polishes I swatch. The formula was too difficult. I added thinner to my bottle, and it didn’t help much at all. I had high, high hopes for this one, but it turned out to be a bitter disappointment. It’s a definite destash. (Into the trash can, most likely!)

essie-classicalcliche-sm

Essie, Classical Cliche is from the 2016 Tropical Lights Collection. It is a light (sky?) blue with a strong gold shimmer/shift. It has a pearly finish on the nail. The formula for this one is good. It is somewhat sheer, and it shows brush strokes on the nail. I had a hint of VNL at 2 coats, so I ended up using 3 for full opacity.

Before I swatched this polish, I was sure I would hate it. I caught myself wondering why in the heck I had even purchased it. But … this one surprised me. I think I actually like it on my nails. I don’t feel my picture does it justice, and this might be one of those colors that never photographs well because of the brush strokes. In person, though, this polish is so pretty. The blue is icy and silvery, but the gold provides a warm contrast. It has a soft and gentle appearance on the nail that reminds me of candlelight. It also reminds me of China Glaze’s Pearl Jammin’ and, to a lesser extent, China Glaze, Dashboard Dreamer. Both of those are polishes I love. I remain unsure about whether the brush strokes will bother me or not, but I’m going to keep this one for now.

zoya-dory-sm

Zoya, Dory is from the Summer 2016 Sunsets Collection. It is a bright, vibrant blue creme. The formula is fantastic. It was almost a 1-coater. I ended up doing 2 coats for full opacity. It has a smooth, creamy, and easy application. I’m showing it in my photo without top coat. I feel like it has a “ridgey” look in the picture, but it doesn’t look like this in real life. There are times of the day when I shoot swatch pictures, and the reflections and shadows from my window give the polish this type of appearance.

I LOVE this polish. Is it any big surprise? It’s a vibrant and beautiful blue. I think of this one as a medium tone. It’s super pretty on the nail and has a gorgeous formula. What more could a blue-loving polish junkie ask for? Nothing! This is a definite keeper.

opi-thiscostmeamint-sm

OPI, This Cost Me a Mint is from the 2016 Soft Shades Collection. It’s a grayed-out, muted light green. The formula is decent for a pastel. It was somewhat streaky and had low spots, although it did okay at leveling itself out, in the end. I needed 3 coats for full opacity.

This is a pretty color. I like the muted quality to it. I initially purchased it thinking it was more of a pistachio or light green color, instead of an actual minty green. On my nails, though, I could see the mint tones coming through. I didn’t like that at all. This one is a destash for me.

And that’s a wrap for yet another week of Tuesday Untrieds. Yay! Last week was kind of busy here in the nail blog. I had a few things to post about, which was fun. I expect this week will be quite a bit more quiet and laid-back. Right now, I’m only planning on this post and my Friday “swatch my stash” post. I’m excited about heading home because I have some lovelies waiting for me. I have my first order with Le Polish, as well as my first Pretty Serious order. I can’t wait to dive into those. Hopefully, I’ll be able to post a haul with them in the near future.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Untrieds #18

  1. Boy, I stop paying attention for a minute, and you blog up a storm in the meantime!
    Dory is beautiful on you. I wonder if some of those “ridges” have to do with your curtains?

    Like

    1. Ha! Yeah … I’ve been “ninja blogging”. LOL It’s been a crazy couple of weeks in here because of new fall things and some nail mail.

      Yes, I think some of the ridges might be from the window reflections. I take my pictures next to a window that has blinds over it. I like the diffused light, but I sometimes get the reflections.

      Like

Leave a Reply

