China Glaze: My Little Pony

I’m a bit late with this post. I feel like the interwebs have already been buzzing about this collection for a while now. When I first heard about this collection, I was pretty excited about it. I have good memories of watching the newest MLP show (Friendship is Magic) with my daughter, and I quite like it for the cute storylines and lovely animation artwork. I’m a sucker for pretty much anything animated. Then, when I saw the first pictures of the collection, I felt a little disappointed because I didn’t think there were many colors I would like. From that first look, I expected to get, maybe, two of them. I thought I would toss them into my Tuesday Untrieds or my weekly manicure posts. I didn’t expect there would be enough of the collection to do a dedicated post.

And yet … Here we are. Clearly, my plans didn’t go as expected. This is what I do: I see a collection online and think to myself, “Self, there’s only a couple of colors you will like in there. And one of them is in a duo pack. This whole collection is going to be a bust for you.” And you know what? I’m okay with that. I mean, disappointed, sure. But overall, okay. It’s not like I don’t already have polish. I have a LOT of polish. And so, I go along my merry way, feeling  happy and content that I won’t need to pick up much of anything from this collection. Really, it feels a lot like escaping an execution date or something. Maybe not that bad, but there is an element of relief to it. Until … I see the polishes in the store. And I see reviews of them online. And I realize they have pretty great formulas. And colors start to call to me from the shelves. Before I know it, I’ve purchased almost the whole collection — not all at one time, but bit by bit. Am I the only one who does this craziness? Please tell me I’m not the only one.

The My Little Pony Collection is, of course, inspired by the Friendship is Magic TV show, as well as the My Little Pony Movie, which is releasing in theaters in October 2017. The collection has 14 polishes, and it’s a good mix of brights, pastels, glitters, and shimmers. There’s even a holographic polish tossed in for good measure. I ended up with 9 of the 14 shades. I have two of them in mini size, and there is one which I technically own, although I don’t have it in my hot little hands just yet. My store was continuously out of this particular shade, so my wonderfully awesome nail bestie picked it up for me. Yay!

Here’s the run-down on the colors I did NOT buy: Cutie Marks the Spot is a mint green. I think I’ve established that mint green and I are no longer friends. Sweet as Pinkie Pie is a lovely pink shade that I just know would look terrible on me. I Sea Ponies is a silver linear holographic, which I didn’t purchase because I prefer to go indie for that type of polish. Let Your Twilight Sparkle is a shimmery, iridescent blue-purple topper, which, honestly, didn’t interest me that much. I don’t wear toppers a lot, and I already have quite a few that I love in my collection. Hay Girl, Hay is an iridescent topper — I may still purchase this one in the future, but my parents’ store is sold out of it.

And now, on with the colors I purchased. Woo Hoo!! As with my previous post, I’m including pictures in the sunlight and in shade. One thing that S. Texas has in abundance is sunshine, so I’m gonna make the most of it!

cg-onepolishedpony-sun-sm

One Polished Pony is a robin’s egg blue with silver shimmer. The formula for this one is pretty good. It dries quickly, so I had to be careful not to overwork the brush. It was opaque in two coats.

cg-onepolishedpony-shade-sm

This is one of the colors I immediately lusted after when I saw online swatches. There was a lot of speculation that it might be a dupe for For Audrey, but I didn’t feel it was. I think For Audrey is darker and dustier than this polish, although I haven’t compared them in person yet. I’m just going from memory. Also, For Audrey isn’t my favorite polish, so I might be a bit biased.

I love the combination of glittery shimmer and this pretty, light shade of blue. The shimmer didn’t show up well in my photos, but it looks great in real life. It’s a beautiful and delicate polish. I like it so much more than For Audrey.

cg-wheresthepartycanonat-sun-sm

Where’s the Party Canon At? is a pink/raspberry jelly base with holographic glitter. So much glitter!! The formula for this polish is really good. It’s a bit sheer, which is expected with a jelly polish, but it’s not difficult to apply. It was opaque in 2 easy coats.

cg-wheresthepartycanonat-shade-sm

What can I even say about this polish? It’s amazing. That is all. Seriously, I couldn’t get over how much glittery goodness was packed into this bottle. It’s like a unicorn barfed all over my nails. And I want it to happen again and again and again. Because it’s so freaking GLITTERY!!! *.* Yeah, I love this. Can you tell?

cg-bestponiesforever-sun-sm

Best Ponies Forever is an old/antique gold metallic. The formula for this polish is surprisingly good. It was nearly a 1-coater, but I used 2 for my swatch picture. The brush strokes show, but I didn’t find them to be overwhelming or too distracting.

cg-bestponiesforever-shade-sm

I didn’t particularly want this polish, but it came in a duo pack with a polish I desperately wanted. Even so, I had made up my mind that I wouldn’t buy the duo pack. I would just long for the other polish from afar. My mom took pity on me and purchased the duo for me as a gift.

This is a nice gold. I like it, and I’m impressed with the formula. But it’s not terribly unique to my stash. I am a fan of golds, and I already have several. I probably have one that’s close in color to this one. If you want or need a gold, though, this is a good one.

cg-songbirdserenade-sun-sm

Songbird Serenade is a black polish with multi-colored shimmer throughout. The formula is great. It was opaque for me in 2 easy coats.

cg-songbirdserenade-shade-sm

ArghOMG11111!! I love this polish so much I think I could die. Yep. Just fall over dead right here. Well, not right here, because I’m typing this in the middle of my mom’s kitchen, and I would be in the way. But you know what I mean. Songbird Serenade was the second half of the duo pack that contained Best Ponies Forever, and, as you probably already guessed, this is the polish I wanted in such a pitiful and desperate way. When I first saw pictures of the collection online, this is the polish I wanted the most.

Did it live up to my lovey-lust expectations? Yes!! It absolutely did in every way possible. I freaking LOVE this polish. I’m a big fan of blacks and darks, in general, but I adore the multi-colored shimmer running through this one. It’s pretty and sparkly. When it catches the light just right — BAM!! I think this one is something special. My one complaint is that I wish it had just a little more of the multi-colored goodness.

cg-applejackofmyeye-sun-sm

Applejack of My Eye is a pinkish coral red. I think it rides the line between a pink, a red, and a coral. I believe this one is advertised as a creme, but it had more of a crelly vibe to me. The formula is good. It seems a bit thin, although not in a bad way. It was opaque for me in 2 coats, although I could still see a hint of VNL in certain lights. This didn’t bother me at all with this color.

cg-applejackofmyeye-shade-sm

This one surprised me. I visited my parents’ Sally’s a few times, and I would look at this color on the shelf each time. It called to me, but I was determined to resist the siren song. After all, I’m not much for red polishes. I told myself this every single time. Until the last time, when I just gave in and bought the darn thing. Even as I put it into my little shopping basket, I had that sinking feeling of doom. I just knew this was going to turn out to be a huge fail for me.

Guess what? I LOVE THIS POLISH! Yes!! I said it. I even said it in all capital letters. I love this one. It is such a beautiful, juicy, perfect red. I love the way it plays between red, pink, and coral. I love how it looks in both sunlight and shade. I love the formula and the finished appearance on the nail. I pretty much adore everything about this polish. Believe it or not, this one might end up being my favorite from this collection. I know! I’m shocked as heck!

cg-toobusybeingawesome-sun-sm

Too Busy Being Awesome is a cerulean blue creme. The formula for this polish is so, so, sooooooo good. My bottle was rich and creamy with just the right amount of thickness to it. This was opaque for me in 1 coat. Yep — that’s one coat in my picture. I usually do two just because, but this one didn’t need it. Word of warning, though: I’m pretty sure this one is going to be a stainer. I had slight staining on my ring finger just from my swatch picture. Keep in mind that I swatch without a base coat, so I’m not sure how it will do in a full manicure with proper base and all that.

cg-toobusybeingawesome-shade-sm

This blue has the most perfect name, because it truly is too busy being awesome. This is another that I had no intention of buying. I sometimes feel like I already own all the blue nail polish in the world, and I was pretty sure I could find something in my stash that came close to this color. But it kept calling to me from the shelves of Sally’s. Who am I to resist? I finally gave in and bought the darn thing. And, oh my gosh, am I ever glad I did!

I was blown away by this one when I saw it on my nails. This blue is bright, vibrant, and all kinds of perfect. It was opaque and juicy in just one coat. It was a dream to apply. This might be a new favorite blue for me, depending on how bad any potential staining is. I had to put it on my toes right away, so I’ll be interested to see how things turn out when I change my pedicure.

cg-killemwithkindness-sun-sm

Kill ‘Em With Kindness is a bright lemony yellow. I’m undecided about the formula for this polish. It wasn’t bad for a yellow, but it wasn’t as good as I expected it to be based on the reviews I had seen. It wasn’t exactly difficult to apply, but I ended up with a lot of low spots and streaks through each coat. I had to do 4 coats for full opacity. I wonder if this is because I have it in the mini bottle, with a much smaller than usual brush.

cg-killemwithkindness-shade-sm

This is such a pretty, pretty yellow. It’s almost a perfect shade, riding the line between vibrant and pastel. I love the color and the finished look on the nail. I don’t love doing four coats of polish, although this might be due to the much smaller than usual brush. I got this one in a mini size to start because I wasn’t sure if I would love it or not. I felt it could go either way with us. I’m seriously thinking about getting the full-size bottle of this one. I love the color that much.

cg-shesamaneiac-sun-sm

She’s a Mane-iac is a bright, blue-toned pink neon with pink shimmer. It dries quickly and matte. I used 3 coats for full opacity, and I felt I could still see VNL.

cg-shesamaneiac-shade-sm

As you can see, this is another color I purchased in a mini because I couldn’t decide whether or not I liked it enough to get a full-sized bottle. I’m still not sure, which probably means this color isn’t for me. It’s a pretty pink, and it looks super bright and vibrant on the nail. I think the shimmer is beautiful under top coat, although it doesn’t show as much as I expected it would based on reviews and pictures I had seen online. Overall, I think it might be a tad too bright for me. I might like it on my toes. I need to try that out with my little mini bottle before making a final decision.

And, finally, there is I Just Canter-lot. This is the purple jelly polish that is packed with holographic glitter. It’s similar to Party Canon. I don’t have pictures of this one, as it’s the polish my nail bestie picked up for me. The store near me was constantly sold out of it, so I’m beyond grateful to her for hunting it up for me. I’m looking forward to seeing it in person, but the photos will probably end up in a Tuesday Untrieds, a nail mail, or a weekly mani wrap-up.

Overall, I have to say this collection surprised me. I think there is a nice range of colors in here, as well as a nice mix of finishes. I ended up liking several of these, which was pleasantly unexpected. Top that with pretty great formulas, and I think this collection is a winner.

 

4 thoughts on “China Glaze: My Little Pony

  1. The yellow is such a pretty color, but 4 coats? I suspect the mini is making it worse. I’m a little surprised you say you thought the formula would be better? Everyone I saw swatch this collection had to do 3 coats on all the pastels. If you make yourself a liberated brush or buy a full size, you could try it and see if you could cut it down to 3 but I doubt this one will ever be a 2 coater!

    Like

    1. I saw a blog post that mentioned it was two coats. And I think I didn’t pay a lot of attention to the number of coats needed in the video reviews — LOL. Honestly, I didn’t expect it to be a 2-coater. But I didn’t expect 4. >.O I’m pretty sure it would be a decent 3-coater in the full size bottle. I definitely need to do the liberated brush thing!

      Like

      1. Actually, now that you remind me of it, I think Manigeek got hers in 2 coats — but I was SHOCKED. Shocked, I tell you, because I’d seen Jessface and Phoebe use 3 and Manigeek used 3 on the other pastels. If anything, Manigeek usually does more thinner coats. Maybe she got a bottle that was somehow thickened up a bit?

        Like

      2. Yes!! That’s it. It was Manigeek’s blog where I saw the two coats mentioned. And it stuck in my mind because I went back there to check it out once I had the mini in hand. When I watched the swatch videos, I had no intention of purchasing most of these colors (how ironic! LOL), so I didn’t pay much attention to their application. The more I think about it, the more I am sure I needed 4 because of the mini bottle and teeny brush.

        Like

Leave a Reply

