Swatch My Stash! OPI #4: Greens

I completely forgot to post my regular Tuesday Untrieds post this past Tuesday. Time really gets away from me when I visit my parents. It tends to get away from me in the Summer, anyhow, because my daughter doesn’t participate in as many activities. But it’s even worse when I’m at my parents’ house. They are both retired, and we have no schedule whatsoever. This is great for my mental health. But bad for my blogging schedule. Half the time, I don’t even think about what day it is!

Today, I’m starting in on sharing my OPI greens. I have a total of 12 greens in my stash (provided I didn’t overlook any during this project), and I’m going to share six of those today. I haven’t always worn a lot of green, but I feel like I have come to enjoy this color more and more over the last couple of years.

opi-gargantuangreengrape1-sm

The first polish I have to share is Gargantuan Green Grape. This is a light, yellow-toned green. The formula is very thin/sheer, although it is also easy to apply. I generally use at least four coats when I wear this one alone as a manicure.

Usually, having to do four coats for an opaque manicure would be a deal-breaker for me. I tend to lose interest after three coats. But I really like this polish. It’s a bright, cheerful color, and I find it easy to work with in spite of the thin formula. I guess this might be considered an “ugly pretty” color, and I love it on my nails. It also water marbles like a champ!

I think there are two versions of this color. I used to have one that was a light, minty-looking blue-green color. I didn’t like that one much at all, and I got rid of it some time ago. I remember even hating the name of it, because it had “green” in the name but looked so blue to my eye. Anyhow, I was thrilled when I finally found the green version of this polish. This one is a keeper for me.

opi-thiscostmeamint-sm

This Cost Me a Mint is from the 2016 Soft Shades Collection. It is a light, slightly dusty mint green. The formula is surprisingly good for a pastel. I found it neither too thick nor too thin. It left some low spots for me on the first coat, but the second coat covered everything pretty well. I had it opaque in two coats.

I am on the fence about this color. I keep buying minty greens and finding myself feeling less than satisfied with them. I’m beginning to think these types of greens are not my cup of tea. I don’t know why I keep on buying them. Maybe because nearly everyone loves this color tone, and I keep thinking I will find my polish prince if I cover enough frogs in mint green? (OK. Not really. That would just be mean.) When I first purchased and swatched this polish, I liked it. I liked that it was smooth and relatively easy to work onto the nail. And I liked that the color is a bit muted and not so in-your-face. Now, though … I’m really not at all sure. I’m sitting here looking at my photo and thinking that this color doesn’t appeal to me very much. I didn’t put this one out for destashing when I first swatched everything, but I think I probably will once I get back home. I may try it on my nails again before making a final decision.

opi-strangertides1-sm

Stranger Tides is from the Spring 2011 Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides Collection. It is a murky, grayed-out, khaki green. The formula is pretty good. It has some low spots on the first coat, and it is rather sheer. I used three coats for my swatch picture.

This is definitely an ugly-pretty color, and I LOVE it. It’s calm and peaceful, and I love the look of it on my nails. It works great as a neutral background for nail art, as a darker neutral base for water marbling, and it also marbles really well. As an aside, my daughter hates this polish. Whenever I wear it, she comments on how ugly it is. Doesn’t bother me a bit, ‘cuz I LOOOOOVE it! This one is a definite keeper.

opi-mydogsledisahybrid-sm

My Dogsled is a Hybrid is from the Fall 2014 Nordic Collection. It is a bright, sea-green creme. The formula on this one is nice. It’s a beautifully creamy polish that applies evenly and dries quickly. It’s a 2-3 coater for me, depending on my application technique.

I apologize that my picture for this one isn’t fantastic. This is a hard color for me to photograph. For a while, I wasn’t sure if I liked this color. I haven’t worn it often, and I thought I would destash it, for sure. Surprisingly, I’ve grown fond of it recently. I’ve water marbled with it, and it worked well. I loved the look of it on my nails when I swatched it. I’m keeping this one for now, and looking forward to wearing it more in the future.

opi-thanxawindmillion-sm

Thanks a Windmillion is from the Spring 2012 Holland Collection. It is a murky, gray-toned sea green creme. The formula on this one is fabulous. It’s practically a one-coater, although I think I would do two coats next time. I used one in my photo, and I don’t like the “thinner” look it has on my nails. I’m thinking two coats would give it a more plump, rich appearance.

This is another polish I haven’t worn all that much. It is a beautiful green. I like how it’s rather dark and moody, but it still has a touch of spring lightness to it. This one is also a keeper for now, and I will see if I manage to wear it more often now that I have “rediscovered” it in my stash.

opi-jadeisthenewblack-sm

Jade is the New Black is from the 2010 Hong Kong Collection. It is a deep, rich jade green. The formula for this polish is practically perfect in every way. It is rich and creamy — almost a one-coater, but I used two in my picture.

This is one of the newest greens (maybe THE newest green?) in my stash. Instagram made me buy it. My nail bestie, @jenniferwallenfels posted pictures of this, and I fell super hard for it. I ran right out and hunted up a bottle of my own. I’m so, so, so glad I did. I adore this polish. Although it looks like crappola in the bottle because of the separation, it is gorgeously perfect on the nail. A definite keeper for me!

And that’s it for my first round of greens! I will have six more to share next week, and then we will move along to the blues. As you can imagine, I have more blues than anything else, so that color will take a while.

6 thoughts on “Swatch My Stash! OPI #4: Greens

  1. The mint is the only one I dislike on your skin tone. I know everyone else loves mint polish, but it just ain’t for us. I have absolutely no desire to wear mint green. It’s unflattering to me!

    Like

    1. I am quickly coming to the same conclusion about minty greens. There is a certain tone of mint: the one that is much more blue than green, but it’s still green enough to be “minty” that I actively hate. It’s a color that actually makes me sick to my stomach, and there was a time when I ended up buying several polishes like that. I think I felt drawn to them at one point in time, but that door has definitely closed –LOL. I’m pretty sure I put all of those types of polishes in with my blues. So there will be a destash extravaganza when we get to them!

      I sometimes get fooled by minty greens like this one (This Cost Me a Mint), because they can look more pistachio and less “mint” in the bottle. Although I should have known, considering the word Mint is in the name. Womp-womp.

      Like

    1. Awww, thanks! *cyberhugs* I have found I really like dusty or grayed-out color tones. Going through and doing this project has been pretty interesting. It’s definitely a great way to figure out what I love and what I don’t. Hopefully, my collecting will be more directed in the future. *fingers crossed*

      Like

Leave a Reply

