Swatch My Stash! OPI #2: Orange & Yellow

Okay! I am finally back with another edition of “swatch my stash”. I ended up taking a break from pretty much everything for the last couple of weeks in an effort to get through my whole collection. I’m heading out of town for a month to visit my parents in a couple of days, and I wanted to have my notes and pictures all done before I left. I finally managed to get done just a few days ago. It makes me feel so accomplished.  Yay! It also kind of makes me not want to buy any new nail polish — ha, ha! This is a good thing, in a way. But I know it won’t last forever. I’m completely nail polish obsessed, after all.

Today, I want to share my OPI Oranges and Yellows. I don’t have as much of these as I do of other colors (*koffkoff* blue *koffkoff*), although I quite like yellow nail polish. Which is strange, because I don’t necessarily love yellow on its own. I would pretty much never wear yellow clothing, for example. But what can you do? The heart wants what it wants. I’m not as big of a fan of orange, but it can be a nice color to wear now and again. I mean, sometimes you’re just in the mood for a good orange. Am I right? Yeah!

opi-orangeyoufantastic1-sm

My first orange is this lovely lady: Orange You Fantastic, from the 2014 Coca-Cola Collection. This is an orange jelly base packed with gold and red glitters. The formula for this polish is really great. It’s easy to work with, and I have never had a problem with the glitters sticking up on my nails. I usually do three coats for full opacity because of the jelly base.

So I picked this polish up on a whim. I think I got it a year or two years ago, when I was visiting my parents. There are a couple of stores in their smallish town that are treasure troves for polishes that are otherwise hard for me to find. I really don’t know why I didn’t shop from this collection when it first came out. I can remember seeing some of these in stores around where I live, but they didn’t catch my eye. I guess it just wasn’t the right time for me or something. But (!!) when I saw this a second time, I fell pretty hard for it. I loved it in the bottle, but wasn’t sure if I would love it on my nails. Guess what? I do! I love, love, love, love this polish. It is bright, bubbly, and so much fun on the nail. It’s one of my top favorite oranges, which makes it a definite keeper.

opi-notanlines-shortnails-sm

This is No Tan Lines, from the Summer 2017 Fiji Collection. This is a medium orange with a bright appearance on the nail. I feel like it looks a bit dark in my photo; I think the lighting wasn’t the greatest when I snapped this picture. It does apply darker on the nail than it looks in the bottle, though. The formula for this polish is pretty bad. It streaks a lot, and it leaves low spots with each coat. It is thin, so it runs, and it was hard to get it level. I needed three coats for opacity, but I probably could have done even more. I basically just gave up at three.

As you can tell, I didn’t love this on my nails as a manicure. I love the look of it in the bottle. The fact that it dries darker than it looks in the bottle and the terrible formula both made this a really disappointing polish for me. Actually, it was a bitter disappointment. Normally, I would destash this one, but it water marbles like a champ. And so, I’m keeping it in my collection for that purpose.

opi-exoticbirdsdonottweet-sm

For my first yellow offering, I have Exotic Birds Do Not Tweet, from the Summer 2017 Fiji Collection. She is a beautifully bright and sunny yellow. The formula wasn’t bad for a yellow. I had some streaking and low spots, but I was able to get it to level out with three coats.

I think I’m in the minority with this one, but I rather like this polish. I wasn’t wild about the formula, but I like the bright sunniness of the color. I’m going to keep it for now. I want to give it another shot to see if I do a better job with application the next time around. Sometimes, when I’m swatching, I try to go too quickly in order to get a lot of photos done within the time I have available. That doesn’t always work well with a tricky color like yellow. I also might have similar-toned yellows that have a better formula. In particular, I Can’t Cope-a-cabana comes immediately to mind. Anyhow, once I go through and compare all my yellows, this one might end up getting destashed.

opi-needsunglasses-sm

Next up is Need Sunglasses?. I wasn’t able to track down the collection information for this polish. This is a rather rich-toned yellow. It reminds me of egg yolks. It has a jelly formula, which means it is thin and prone to flooding if you’re not careful. I think this might be a polish that is meant to be worn over white, although I pretty much hate doing that. I have worn this one on its own at three coats. I was happy with the opacity, but I feel like you will pretty much always see a hint of visible nail line, depending on the lighting.

I love this color. I love it so, so, so much. It is a gorgeous, rich, beautiful yellow. But — I don’t love the look of it on my nails. I can never get it even. I have ridges in my nails, anyhow, and I feel like this polish is one of those that always looks lumpy and ridgy on me. I’m not sure if it’s me or the polish — or a combination of both. I would destash it, but it water marbles beautifully. And so, this is another I will keep for that.

opi-neveradullesmoment-sm

Next is Never a Dulles Moment, from the Fall 2016 Washington DC Collection. This is a mustard-honey yellow with a bit of dustiness to it. The formula is not bad. It’s not too thin. With careful application, I can get this one opaque in two coats, although I typically just go with three.

So, this was one of those polishes that pretty much everyone loved. Almost every blogger or YouTuber that I follow loved this polish. I felt really … underwhelmed. I’m not sure I like the color tone, and I’m not sure I like the way it looks on my nails. I don’t know. I guess I just expected to adore this one after hearing so many great things about it, and I just … didn’t. I should probably destash this one, but I think I’m going to hang on to it for a little longer so that I can give myself one more chance to like it.

opi-cantcopacabana-shortnails-sm

This is I Just Can’t Cope-acabana, from the Spring/Summer 2014 Brazil Collection. This is a bright and vibrant yellow creme. It looks creamy and kind of soft on the nail. The formula on my bottle is really great: creamy and just the right amount of thickness. It’s easily opaque for me in two coats.

This is one of my favorite yellows. And, actually, out of all the OPI yellows I’ve listed so far, this is the only one that I look at and think: “Yeah, that’s a solid keeper!” I think it’s so beautiful and creamy on the nail. I love it on my toes, too!

opi-towelmeaboutit-sm

This is Towel Me About It, from the Summer 2016 Retro Collection. It’s a dusty, light/pastel yellow creme. I found the formula for this one to be really good, especially for a pastel yellow. I was good in two coats on some nails, and three on others because I have a tendency to overwork the brush and make low spots on a couple of my nails.

This is a really pretty, wearable pastel yellow. It’s bright but not too bright. I really like this one, so I think it’s also a keeper.

opi-onechicchick1-sm

And, finally, here is One Chic Chick, from the Spring 2016 Soft Shades. This is a grayed-out pastel yellow. The formula for this polish is really lovely. It goes on smoothly and levels out pretty well. It’s easily opaque in two to three coats.

This polish has a pretty, slightly buttery look on the nail. The formula is also smooth and creamy. Even so, I’m a little on the fence with it. It think it might be too grayed-out for me. I’m keeping it for now, but it’s likely to get destashed somewhere down the line.

And that’s it for my OPI Oranges and Yellows! As I mentioned in the beginning of this post, I’m heading out of town for a month in just a couple of days. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to keep up with this series while I’m gone. I may try to pre-load the images I will need before I leave. But I also have a ton of laundry to get done. Not to mention needing to pack. I have a tendency to plan more than I can do, but I will see how it goes!

6 thoughts on “Swatch My Stash! OPI #2: Orange & Yellow

  1. I love Orange You Fantastic! There was a time when orange soda was my fave, and the glitter reminds me of bubbles. As far as the Yellows, it’s obvious that if a person wanted OPI’s best yellow, I Just Can’t Cope A Cabana is the one!! I have Dulles for nail art, it looks absolutely horrible on my skin tone. As far as Need Sunglasses, the formula probably doesn’t give enough volume to your nails.

    Like

    1. I just tried to post this comment, but it didn’t work. Weird. So, I’m trying again.

      I’ve never been an orange soda fan, but I adore that polish. It’s such a fun and funky look, especially in the Summer because of the mix of glitter and color. I haven’t worn it in a while, so I need to change that! I couldn’t agree more that Can’t Cope-acabana is their nicest yellow. Well, nicest that I’ve tried. I’m sure I haven’t tried them all. I hadn’t thought about Need Sunglasses having a thinner look on the nail. That’s probably exactly what I don’t like about it, and might be what I don’t like about Dulles, too. Hmmm.

      Like

      1. As it happens, Miss Holly Berries just posted her summer faves video for this year last night, and she agrees that if you were to get one yellow from OPI it should be Cope A Cabana. You may not have every yellow from OPI but you have a lot, and same with her, so it seems like the ONE to get. As far as orange, I am very tempted to get Santa Monica Beach Peach from the summer collection, it’s one of those great easy 2 coaters, and very bright sunny orange.

        Like

      2. Oh! I saw that one last night. It must have been right after she posted. It made me feel better about saying how much I loved Can’t Cope-acabana. Not that I need anyone to make me feel better, really, but it’s always good to know my bottle wasn’t just a fluke — ha, ha!

        Like

  2. PS It looks like there’s a couple fabulous formula oranges in the OPI summer collection which, if anyone is looking for orange, they should definitely check out over No Tan Lines 🙂

    Like

    1. Yeah. No Tan Lines is pretty horrible. Sadly, I love the actual color tone of it. But it’s pretty much not wearable on its own. I love it in water marbeling, though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

