Tuesday Untrieds #14

It’s 11:30 PM, and I’m just barely squeaking in under the wire with my Tuesday Untrieds. Yay! I actually haven’t been procrastinating today. Well, I have, but not with my nail blog. I’ve been procrastinating on pretty much everything else in my life because I’m still working on swatching my nail polish stash. I’ve made it through all of my OPIs, as well as my China Glaze reds and pinks. I feel like I’m making good progress, but it’s funny that I’m seeing some overlap between this week’s untrieds and my “swatch my stash” notes. Ah well, such is life!

It’s also kind of funny that I have Shorty McShorty nails in all of my swatch pictures for today. I took all of these photos some time ago, and my nails had grown out since then. (Actually, they grew out twice, as I had a break a week or so ago, and they had grown out a bit from that.) Today, I had a huge break on my swatching hand, and I had to file all of my nails down to nubs. It’s sort of painful, but not really. I like short nails a lot. But it’s funny that my swatch pictures seem to be jumping on the shorties band wagon, too!

sc-queenofgreen-sm

My first polish for this week is Sinful Colors, Queen of Green, which is a shimmery emerald green color. I think this was in the Saint Patrick’s Day display this past March. Maybe … ?? The formula for this one is pretty darn good. It applied smoothly and built up pretty easily for full opacity in two coats.

This is a stunning polish. Just stunning. The green is brighter on the nail than in the bottle, and it’s super sparkly, even without top coat. I also love the finish on this one. So, so pretty! It reminds me of China Glaze Emerald Sparkle, so I’ll be interested to compare those two at some point down the line, For now, though, this one is a keeper.

zoya-zuza-sm

Next is Zoya, Zuza, from the Summer 2012 Surf Collection. This is a green-blue with silver shimmer. To my eye, this leans a tiny bit more green on the nail. It has a great formula: easy to apply, and almost a 1-coater. I used two coats for my swatch picture because I overworked the polish and created some low spots.

This is a super, super, super pretty polish. I wasn’t sure what to expect from it on the nail. I loved it right away in the bottle, but I wasn’t sure if I would end up hating it on my nails. With this color tone and the shimmer, it could go either way for me. I ended up quite liking it. It’s very pretty on the nail, and the shimmer gives it a delicate, kind of dusty appearance. I like this color against my skin tone. I’m keeping this one for now.

zoya-ling-sm

This is Zoya, Ling, from the Summer 2014 Tickled Collection. This is a beautifully dusty, kind of muted medium blue. I think it might be a cobalt blue, but, in spite of loving my blues, I’m terrible at identifying the exact shade. The formula for this polish is ab-fab. It’s very smooth and easy to apply. It was nearly a one-coater, but I ended up with two on some nails because I have that bad habit of overworking the brush and leaving low spots. It dries glossy.

This polish is nothing unique or fancy. I bet I have at least three others in my collection (if not more!) that look exactly like it or are very similar. And yet, I adore this polish. Adore it! The formula is just so freaking good. It’s one of those polishes that’s a joy to apply. And this color — YES!! I swatch over my bare nails (no base coat), and I didn’t have any trouble with staining on this polish, although I didn’t wear it for very long. Needless to say, I’m totally keeping this.

opi-ogrethetopblue-sm

This is OPI, Ogre the Top Blue from the Summer 2010 Shrek Forever After Collection. This is a vivid cyan blue, according to descriptions I read on the inter-webs. Remember what I said about Ling not being a unique color? Um, yeah. So this one is quite similar, although I feel it is brighter and, maybe, has a hint more green in it. The formula is good: goes on smoothly, and isn’t too thick or too thin. I didn’t have any streaking with it, and it was opaque in two fairly easy coats.

Need I say it? Yeah, but I’m gonna say it, anyhow. This is a GORGEOUS shade of blue. Gorgeous!! It’s just a straight-up blue with no fancy bells or whistles, and it makes me feel oh-so-happy. I’ve already worn it on my toes. I had to try it right away, as soon as I had swatched it. I was a bit worried about staining, but I wore it on my toes for about a week or week and a half with no problems.

opi-polkadotcom-sm copy

And, finally, here is OPI, Polka.com, from the Spring/Summer 2013 Euro Centrale Collection. This is a topper in a clear base with purple and blue metallic hexes, as well as smaller micro glitters. I’ve shown it in my swatch at two coats on its own, as well as one coat over white (OPI, Alpine Snow) and one coat over black (OPI, Black Onyx). As you can see, this one is definitely a topper. It will never be opaque on its own. The formula isn’t terrible. The base isn’t too thick, which is great in a topper.

Meh. I don’t love this one. I recently swatched it again for my “swatch my stash” project, and I decided to destash it. So, yeah … you’ll end up seeing this one again in a future post. And you’ll already know I destashed it! It’s like you’re psychic. Cool!

And that’s a wrap for this week’s Tuesday Untrieds. Overall, I think this was a pretty good group of polishes. I feel like the glitter topper was a dud for me, although it’s still a great polish, as well as a pretty color combination. But I loved everything else in this batch. I’m looking forward to wearing them on my nails. You know, one of these days. When I get around to it. Too much polish … too little time. The struggle is real.

Leave a Reply

