Hauling Time: Some Colores de Carol

I have such a love-fest going with this wonderful brand. I know, I know. This is no secret to anyone. You know how it is: You love a brand, and you want to get every single thing from that brand. Because, really, every single thing made by that brand is fabulous. And yet, you can’t get every single thing because, sadly, that money tree in your back yard never grew — even though you buried, like, a gazillion quarters. It’s the same old, sad story: unlimited desire … extremely limited fundage. What’s a polish junkie to do?

Well, I’ll tell ‘ya. She sits and debates over those “almost” polishes. You know, the ones she “almost” purchased but didn’t. And, when there’s a sale, she leaps into action and puts those almost-bought-it darlings into her cart and runs for the hills like a giddy, polish-loving fiend. And that’s just what I did a few days ago. I decided to snatch up a couple of polishes I had been debating over for a while, one polish from the recent Sunday Funday Collection that I bitterly regretted not purchasing, a back up bottle of Wizard Lizard (because that topper is All The Things — for real), and the two new Facebook fan group exclusive polishes. The box arrived today, and I’m so excited. Nail mail!! Is there anything better? Nope! Nothing better!

cdc-rainbowsnocone-sm

So, first up is Rainbow Sno Cone, from the recent Sunday Funday Collection. This is a wonderfully fun topper that has gold, blue, red, green, orange, purple, and silver metallic glitters in a holographic base. The glitters are circles, and I think I can see squares in there, too. I think the formula is fabulous. I swatched this polish pretty much as soon as I took it out of the package. I didn’t shake it up or let it stand upside down. Even with the normal settling that occurs during shipping, I had no trouble getting plenty of glitter out on my nails. And the holographic base is beautiful.

I decided to swatch this one over a variety of colors. I used China Glaze, Summer Reign (purple: index finger), China Glaze, Sultry Solstice (orange: middle finger), China Glaze, Up All Night (dark blue: ring finger), and Morgan Taylor, Water Baby (light blue: pinky). I thought it looked fab over each one of these colors, and I had really nice coverage with just one coat of the topper. I think the holographic stands out a lot more over the darker colors. I love this so much. It is festive, fun, and perfect for summer. I have no idea why I didn’t include this one with my initial Sunday Funday order. What was I thinking?!?

cdc-cherryblossomfestival-sm

So this was a weird order for me, because there were three pinks. I know! It’s crazy town! This is the first one: Cherry Blossom Festival. This is one of the two exclusive polishes Carolina created for the members of her Facebook fan group. Cherry Blossom Festival is a pretty, soft pink. It’s not really a baby pink or a Barbie pink … but maybe something in between the two? I feel like this polish has a pearlescent, almost “frosty” finish on the nail, and it has scattered holographic glitters running throughout. I found the formula to be nice. It was opaque in two easy coats, although I noticed some brush strokes after the polish dried.

I’ll be honest. When I saw initial pictures of this polish, I thought it was pretty but probably not for me. Because, you know … pink and frosty. I pretty much only purchased it because it was one of the fan group exclusives.

But (!!) Oh my gosh, I’m super happy I got this polish! When I got my first in-person look at the bottle, I thought, “Wow! It’s so much prettier than I expected!” I just couldn’t get over it. I felt that little thrill of happiness the whole time I was putting it on my nails. This polish is super, super pretty! I actually like the pearly, frosty appearance. I feel like this, combined with the holographic glitters, gives this polish a beautifully delicate appearance. I loved seeing it on my nails. Sadly, I don’t think this one photographs very well. I tried several different angles in an attempt to capture the depth and detail in this polish, but I just couldn’t get its delicate beauty to come through as well as I wanted.

cdc-eternallove-sm

This is Eternal Love, from the 2017 Mother’s Day Duo. She is a soft, petal/melon pink with gold shimmer. The shimmer is subtle. It shows on the nail in the right light, but, mostly, it gives the polish a soft look. The formula for this polish is lovely. It applies smoothly and levels out pretty well, although I had some trouble with low spots streaking down my nails. I liked it best for my swatch picture at three coats, but this might be down to my application technique today.

Okay … So remember how I’m always saying I keep on buying pinks because I’m on this fool’s quest to find my “perfect” pink? And how I know, deep down inside, that I’m never going to find it, but I keep on buying all the pinks, anyhow? Yeah. Well, hold on to your hats, because I think this one just might be it.

Wha-aaaat?!? I know!! It’s crazy talk. I hesitate to believe it, but I think it might be true. Time will tell. What I do know for now is that I love this pink on my nails. Love it. I love that it’s a “different” tone of pink. It’s almost like it is cool and warm at the same time. Is that crazy of me? I don’t know. But I love how this one seems to glow next to my skin tone. It is so delicate and soft and pretty.

cdc-cupidsvacation-sm

This is my last pink: Cupid’s Vacation, from the 2017 Valentine’s Day Trio. She is a pink-toned red (or is she a red-toned pink?) linear holographic with micro holo black glitter, iridescent shimmer (gold-green-blue), and multi-chrome flakes (teal-purple-blue). The formula for this polish is pretty much perfect. It applies beautifully and smoothly. It just glides onto the nail. This polish is nearly opaque in one coat, but I still had a hint of visible nail line. I ended up using two coats for my picture.

Oh my gosh! I love this. I LOVE THIS!!! Ugh. So, so, soooooo pretty. It makes me want to squeal and do unreasonable things. Initially, I was a little put-off by the dark glitters, and that’s why I didn’t purchase this one when it first came out. But … just … wow! This polish is beyond beautiful. I’m so happy I decided to buy it. I think it’s going to become a favorite for me. This color reminds me of a raspberry red. I love how juicy and vibrant it is on the nail, and I also love those dark glitters. They stand out beautifully against the base.

cdc-perspective1-sm

The last polish in my haul is Perspective. This is the second exclusive polish Carolina created for her Facebook fan group. There is a lot going on in here, and I’m certain I will fail at adequately describing it all. But — I shall try. Perspective is a beautiful multi-chrome with iridescent shards and holographic glitters. This one definitely shifts! I could see a vibrant, blue-toned purple … a dark, almost midnight blue … an orange … and a red. I tried to photograph this one at a few different angles to see if I could catch some of the color shifts.

cdc-perspective2-sm

I found the formula for this one to be really fantastic. It went on quite sheer on the first coat, but it was pretty much opaque on the second. I think I had to do three coats on one of my nails, because I missed a bit along the sidewall. I didn’t have any trouble with it streaking or pooling. And I didn’t really notice any brush strokes once it dried down.

cdc-perspective3-sm

This polish is gorgeous. The color shifts are strong and beautiful. I’m wearing this one on my nails right now, and it keeps surprising me in different lighting as I walk through my house. And it seemed to come alive when I went outside earlier. I was supposed to be taking out the garbage, but I might have gotten a little bit distracted by my nails. Ha! I really love this one, and it makes me even more excited to see what this brand has coming up next!

3 thoughts on “Hauling Time: Some Colores de Carol

  1. Never a bad day when you get nail mail from Carolina! I love how the toppers she’s been doing show more holo over darks, and more glitter over lighter things.

    As far as Cherry Blossom Festival, I think the name says it all – with all your pix of cherry blossoms, you of all people should realize it’s a cherry blossom pink 🙂

    As far as Eternal Love, I think it’s a nice complex color. Like it’s not just some red and white… she probably mixed it with some complimentary colors. It could be called “full spectrum,” like the paints I like to use in my office and home. And those more complex colors are always more pleasing! Perhaps that’s why you enjoy it so much!

    Mmmmmm, multichrome goodness! And yeah, outdoor lighting is great for multichromes because the light is coming from everywhere. You can try shooting them outside in the shade, that generally works really well. I also have good luck pointing my knuckles towards the window and letting the light come over the top of my nails.

    Like

    1. So true on the nail mail. Especially when it comes from Carolina!! Ugh. I love this brand so, so much. (As you know. LOL)

      Cherry Blossom Pink — yaaaas!! Why did I not think of that? You are totally right. That is the exact color. I get so used to the names having little to do with the actual color in the bottle that I sometimes forget to look at the obvious. Ha, ha! I just wish that polish photographed a bit better. I shall have to go on a quest for a better pic of it.

      Totally agree re: Eternal Love. It is a complex pink. I dunno exactly what it is, but I have this feeling that I shall now be comparing every pink I find against this one. This might be a good thing, because I can stop looking for pinks now? Ha, ha.

      I got some pictures today (I think — I need to look closer at the pics) that caught more of the shift in Perspective. I’m going to try to post them on IG later. I also have to post my Ki pic from yesterday. I forgot to do that.

      Like

      1. Yay I can’t wait to see more pix on Instagram! And I really want to see Ki.

        As far as Eternal Love and also Nancy (no longer available!), you can really feel the extra love Carolina put into them. I can tell she spent a lot of time getting them right! Not that all her polishes aren’t amazing, but you can tell those two had extra meaning for her.

        Like

Leave a Reply

