Tuesday Untrieds #9

You know, since I started this little blog series, I’ve begun looking forward to Tuesday. Weird, right? Well, any day when we get to share nail polish is a great day in my book. Even if it is a Tuesday. Or Wednesday. Or Monday. Or … Well, you get the general idea. I’m a total fanatic for these little pretties. There is no such thing as “enough”. Hmm … that needs to be on a t-shirt or something.

This week, I’m going to share five more polishes from my as-yet untried stash. I feel like I’ve made some good progress through at least swatching these untried beauties. I’m not sure I will ever catch up completely because I’m always buying new polish. Addicted, remember? Um … yeah.

opi-ds-mystery-sm

So, jumping right into things, here is OPI, DS Mystery. She is a dark purple (eggplant?) with gold shimmer. The shimmer had a very “foil” look. The formula was pretty good on this one. I had some streaking on the first coat, but it built up well and was opaque in two coats.

The base color on this polish is dark and deep, and the gold shimmer gives a really pretty contrast. I feel like the polish looks purple in my picture, but it didn’t look purple to me in person. It looked more reddish or reddish-brown. There was a lot of gold shimmer/glitter in here, but I didn’t like the way it distributed over my nail. I ended up deciding this polish, while pretty, just isn’t for me.

Oddly enough, I have since purchased a Zoya (Sansa) that is similar to this polish. I like the Zoya oh so much more, which makes me think I made a good choice in passing this one along to someone who might love it more.

opi-roadhouseblues-sm

This is OPI, Road House Blues. It is a dark, purple-toned navy blue. It reminds me of a very dark denim, like when a pair of jeans is brand new. The formula was a bit thin, but not difficult. It was opaque in two fairly easy coats.

I pretty much love this one. It looks very dark, almost black, on the nail. In some lights, it probably would look black. But it is beautifully blue in sunlight — even indirect sunlight, as in my photograph. If I’m being honest, I have to admit that this one is very similar to Lincoln Park After Dark, except it is blue instead of purple. And, maybe, it’s not quite as dark/black-looking as Lincoln Park. Either way, I adore it. I’m a big fan of so-dark-they’re-almost-black polishes. I may be in the minority on that one, but colors like this give me a little polish junkie thrill.

essie-trophywife-sm

Essie, Trophy Wife is an aqua blue with a greenish tint/shift. The formula is okay on this one. It was thinner than I would like, and it was rather sheer when I applied it. I was a total lame-o and forgot to write down how many coats I needed for opacity. Given that I noted the formula was thin and sheer, my guess is that I might have needed three coats.

I think I like this polish. Really, I will have to wear it as a full manicure before I make my final decision on it because the formula might end up putting me off from keeping it. I love the color, though. It is one of those watery, liquid blues that I love so much. It has a really pretty shimmer on the nail, and I like the finish quite a lot. I feel like it has a nice, watery look to it — like the ocean or a lovely, deep lake.

ninezero-wavelength-sm

Nine Zero, Wavelength is a gorgeously bright medium blue holographic. The formula on this polish is perfect. It practically applies itself, and it seems to glide over the nail. It was opaque in two easy-breezy coats.

I freaking LOVE this polish! I have no idea how it ended up languishing away in my untrieds drawer. Sitting here now, looking at the swatch picture, I find myself absolutely amazed that I didn’t immediately wear this one when I got it. It must have come in at a time when I was in a buying frenzy. Sometimes, things just kind of get lost in the mix, even if I don’t intend for them to. At any rate, I’m doing another week of blue manicures this week, and I think I’m going to pull this one out to make sure I wear it. This is such a vibrant, perfect color of blue. Seriously. I can’t even. Can’t even. *.*

inm-northernlights-gold-sm

Finally, here is INM Northern Lights, the gold version. This was a gift from my Instagram nail bestie, @jenniferwallenfels. Thanks so much, Jenn! *cyberhugs*

This is a very pretty and sparkly holographic rainbow on the nail. It doesn’t look gold, which was a bit of a disappointment. I’ve always wanted the gold version of China Glaze Fairy Dust, and I was hoping this one would fill that lemming hole in my polish loving heart. I don’t think it will, though. The glitter, while really pretty, is more sparse on the nail than I would like. And you really have to SHAKE the bottle before you apply this.

BUT (!!) Even though I sound like a bit of a Negative Nellie, I actually like this topper a lot. I like that it’s a top coat, whereas Fairy Dust, to me, has always been a topper. As in, I use a top coat over Fairy Dust. I also like the delicate look this has on the nail. It’s like looking at the first stars that come out into the night sky. (Well, that’s what it made me think of when I swatched it, because I tried it over Road House Blues.)

And that’s a wrap for yet another edition of Tuesday Untrieds. Overall, I think I ended up with a good batch of pretty polishes this week. I love that I liked pretty much all of them. Although, perhaps that shouldn’t come as any huge surprise to me because most of them are blue. I am a sucker for my blues, after all. I should probably be ashamed of this … But I’m not. I had to sell my shame a long time ago so that I could afford more nail polish.

Leave a Reply

