Colores de Carol: Sunday Funday Collection

cdc-sundayfunday-group-sm

I love me some juicy, glittery, squishy crelly polish! Oh yeah!! Crellies are right up there as one of my very favorite types of polish. I feel like they have so much depth to them, while also being flirty and fun. You can end up with a different look on each nail, and you never know quite what you will get with each swipe of the brush. I love all of those things. Plus, they have that rubbery jelly finish on the nail.

Needless to say, I was one happy happy polish junkie when I saw the first pictures of Colores de Carol’s newest collection. It’s called Sunday Funday, and it’s all crelly goodness, all the time. Oh yeah, baby!! I could not wait to get my hands on a few of these little darlings. The entire collection contains six crelly polishes in different pastel shades, as well as a glitter-bomb rainbow topper. I purchased four of the six crellies. From L to R, they are: Clown Shoes (the yellow), Ferris Wheel (the green), Fun Fair (the blue), and Toss My Rings (the purple). The remaining polishes, which I did not purchase, are: Mango Taffy (a light orange), Cotton Candy Dip (a pink), and Rainbow Sno Cone (the rainbow topper). I passed on these three because I didn’t think I would wear the orange or pink that much, and I’ve gone a bit “topper crazy” lately. Buuuuut … after swatching the ones I purchased, I’m second-guessing my decision. I may end up going back for the three I didn’t buy in my first order.

cdc-sundayfunday-packaging-sm

First things first, I have to talk about the adorable packaging for these polishes. Each polish came wrapped in a colorful, playful little bundle of loveliness. Each one had colorful tissue paper on the outside, wrapped closed with adorable washi tape. Underneath the tissue, each polish was securely enclosed in a little bubble wrap baggie. It was the perfect combination of playfulness and security. And I love how the colored tissue paper matches the fun, carnival theme of this collection. Carolina also included a sweet little note in the package. It has information about the collection and about Colores de Carol polishes, in general. There are also some helpful tips for applying and removing glitter polish. Most of us polish junkies probably already have our own methods for glitter application and removal, but I love that she included this sweet little note. If I was new to glitters, this would be hugely helpful advice. (This is going to sound totally stupid on my part, but it took me forever to figure out how to easily remove glitter by using foil. There. I said it. I’m not the sharpest tool in the shed, guys! Ha, ha!)

Before getting into the individual colors, I’m going to say a little bit about formula. All of these are pretty similar, formula-wise. I had planned on discussing formula with each polish, but I realized I would sound like the proverbial broken record if I did that. So … formula. I found the formulas on all of these to be pretty great. They are somewhat sheer. This is pretty normal for crellies. If the base color isn’t somewhat sheer, you can’t see the glitters very well. I found each polish applied well. It stayed where I put it without running or pooling, and each one built up easily. One thing I really loved about these is that, even with being sheer, I didn’t have trouble with the polishes streaking. So it was easy to get them to level out and look even. I ended up doing three coats on each one of these for my swatch pictures. This didn’t bother me. I’ve found this to be the standard for me with crelly polishes.

Okay! On with the colors! Woo Hoo!!

cdc-tossmyrings-sm

Toss My Rings is a light purple/lavender with green, orange, yellow, pink, and purple glitters. The glitters are mostly circles, but they are all different sizes. There are tiny white squares, too. There is a lot of glitter pay-off in this polish. My bottle was packed to the brim with these beautiful, bright glitters.

I love this one. I just looooove it. So much more than I thought I would. I’m not always the biggest fan of pastel purples. But I think the color combination in this polish is fantastic. I love how the green and orange, in particular, play off of the base color. This is such a fun polish.

cdc-ferriswheel-sm

Ferris Wheel is a pastel green. When I look at it, I think “pistachio”. It is packed with pink, silver, blue, and bright green hexes, as well as blue, red, and white squares. This lovely has a ton of glitter, too!

This one is another winner for me. I love the soft, peaceful base color. It’s such a beautiful green — calm without being too minty. I particularly love how the bright green and the bright blue glitters play off of the base. I think this polish has a lot of depth and texture to it, both because of the glitter mix and also because there are darker glitters running throughout it, along with the brighter colors.

cdc-clownshoes-sm

Clown Shoes is a pale yellow base packed with lavender, bright purple, green, and red glitters in a mix of hexes, squares, and shards. There are also tiny white dot or circle glitters running throughout this polish.

So … This polish has my least favorite name out of the whole collection. I do not like clowns. I probably shouldn’t admit this out loud, but I have a clown phobia. I’ve been like this since I was a kid. I’m totally not scared of this gorgeous polish, though! It’s such a pretty color combination. I love this soft yellow. It reminds me of baby ducks. Is that crazy? Uh … don’t answer that. I also love the way the different colors of glitter play off of the lighter base color. I think the pale yellow is perfect for this one because it lets all the different glitter colors come out to play.

cdc-funfair-sm

And, finally, here is Fun Fair, a pastel blue base with salmon, bright green, bright blue, red, and white (silver?) circle and square glitters. There are also tiny white dots.

Clearly, this is my favorite of the ones I purchased. Was there ever any doubt this would be the case? I mean … it’s blue! It’s a glorious, gorgeous blue that is like a breath of fresh spring air. So, so, sooooo pretty. I really like the glitter mix in this polish. In particular, the salmon and bright green glitters seem to pop right off the nail. I might have liked seeing a bright magenta or even a purple glitter in here. But … really, how can I complain at all? I mean, just look at the gorgeousness! Yep. It’s pretty great. I’m wearing it on my nails right now. The more I look at it, the more I love it.

On a not-so-great note, the bottle for this particular polish had a LOT of settling. Basically, all the glitters in this one are firmly stuck on the bottom of the bottle. I even left the bottle upside-down over night. I shook it up like crazy, and then even stirred it a little bit with an orange stick. I still got a decent glitter pay-off on my nails, but it made me sad to see all that glittery gorgeousness sitting on the bottom of the bottle. It’s like they were taunting me! Argh, Universe. Why?!?

Overall, I LOVE everything about this collection. I love that it’s all crelly. I love the carnival theme to the names. I love the beautifully pastel bases. The formulas for the ones I purchased are fantastic, and these are fun to wear. Just having them on my nails makes me feel cheerful. Really, I can’t say enough great things about them. Every order I get from Colores de Carol reaffirms why this brand has quickly become my favorite indie. Carolina just keeps on knocking it out of the park!

2 thoughts on “Colores de Carol: Sunday Funday Collection

  1. Aww thank you very much for your kind words, Crellies are my favorite! I’m so happy to know you liked them.

    Like

    1. Hi, hi! You’re so welcome! I love every single one of them. The colors and glitters are so fun. I don’t know what it is about crellies. They make me feel really cheerful when I wear them. And I can use some cheerfulness in my life right now. LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

