Zoya Earth Day … A Haul

The Zoya Earth Day sale/exchange is always cause for celebration. It makes my little polish junkie heart zing with happiness. When I started back into collecting a couple (or is it three? hmmm) years ago, I hadn’t even heard of Zoya. It’s not a brand that was around back in the day, during my first foray into nail polish obsession as a teenager. It has quickly become one of my favorite main-stream brands, and my Zoya stash seems to be forever growing. It seems I won’t be satisfied until I’ve caught them all! (See what I did there? Pokemon Go reference for the win. Or … not. Maybe I’m just lame … *ahem*)

Initially, I decided not to partake in the Zoya goodness during this year’s Earth Day extravaganza. I held strong for several days, in fact. I’m a bit proud of myself for this. But, in the end, even the mightiest among us fall. We all know I am not among that auspicious group when it comes to my nail polish obsession. I grabbed up seven new beauties to add to my hoard. With the coming of Spring, I have been in a bit more of a pastel mood lately, but I went with the dark and deep jewel tones for my order. What can I say? Those dark and moody colors always get me where I live, no matter the season!

zoya-india-sm

India is from the Fall 2014 Ignite Collection. She is a deep, luxurious red with a gold liquid metallic running throughout. As I looked at this color in different types of lighting, I felt I could see orange and purple tones within it, as well. As with pretty much all of my Zoyas, the formula for this one is great. It was neither too thick nor too thin, and it was opaque in two easy coats.

This polish is Gorgeous. Just gorgeous. I love the darkness and depth to the base color, as well as the shimmery finish on the nail. There is something very elegant and luxurious about this color. I’ve already decided it’s going on my toes with my next pedicure. The reds … the browns … the gold shimmer/flecking … Ugh! It is all so perfect. It makes me want to scream a little bit.

zoya-ki1-sm

This is Ki. The Zoya website calls it “a complex multi chromatic oil-slick shade that combines silver, purple, blue, and green in a shimmery metallic finish.” The formula is a bit thin on this one. It goes on sheer, although I didn’t find application difficult. It builds up nicely, but I needed three coats for full opacity. I might have been okay with two coats, but I felt I could see a bit more nail line than I liked. I’m including an extra picture of this one, so that you can see more of the color shift.

zoya-ki2-sm

In the first picture, you can see the green to silver shift on my nails and some of the blue shift around the edges of the bottle. In this second shot, the polish takes on a gorgeously vibrant purple cast. This polish is stunning. I was surprised at how much I liked it. It took my breath away a little bit when I saw the color shifts. I love how it changes from the vibrant purple to green-tinged gray/blue. I found the color shifts to be prominent and super pretty. I love, love, love it. If I had one complaint about this one, it would be the sheerness of the polish. I wish it was a tad bit thicker, but it still applies smoothly and evenly. It shows brush strokes in certain lights, although those didn’t bother me all that much. To me, the gorgeous color is worth it.

zoya-goldie-sm

Goldie is from the Summer 2009 Oooh LaLa Collection. She is a bright, reflective, yellow-toned gold metallic with fine golden shimmer. The Zoya website describes it as “Liquid gold for the nails that’s more affordable than the real thing.” The formula for this polish is rich and lush. It applies easily and builds up well. I found it to be opaque in two easy coats. It shows some brush strokes due to the metallic finish. The brush strokes seem to stand out in my photograph, but they were much less noticeable in real life.

I LOVE this gold. I’m a big fan of gold polish, anyhow, and this one is so gorgeously fantastic. Seriously … I can’t even. I can’t believe I never picked this one up before. I love how bright and yellow it is. It’s vibrant without being brassy. It’s so beautiful. *happy sigh*

zoya-feifei-sm

FeiFei is from the Fall 2012 Diva Collection. She has a medium steel-blue base with heavy gold and blue iridescent metallic sparkle. The formula was decent with this polish. It was a bit more sheer than I expected, although easy to work with. It built up fairly well, but I ended up doing three coats to get the opacity and color tone I wanted.

I sound like such a broken record, but I love this polish. Love it! I adore grays, and we all know what a sucker I am for the blues. I felt this polish looked very gray in the bottle, but the blue stands out beautifully on the nail. It’s sparkly and pretty, and also unique within my stash.

zoya-tallulah-sm

Tallulah is from the Summer 2009 Oooh LaLa Collection. She is a medium electric cobalt blue with fine bright aqua shimmer. The formula for this polish is practically perfect in every way. It goes on easily with full opacity in the expected two coats. On some nails, it was nearly a one-coater.

Dear Tallulah … I love you. Will you marry me?

Um … yeah. I am totally, completely smitten with this polish. It is the most fantastic va-va-voom shade of blue. I love the gorgeous aqua shimmer, which seems to give the polish a tint of green and even purple in certain lights. It never looks anything other than blue, but the other colors sneak in around the edges a bit to give the polish more depth. I think this polish will look beautiful on a wide range of skin tones. For myself, I love it against my fair skin. This is one of those colors I could wear non-stop. And be totally happy with it.

zoya-sansa-sm

Sansa is from the Fall 2014 Ignite Collection. She is a deep eggplant with a gold metallic sparkle. The formula is great on this one. It was easy to apply and opaque in two coats. You can see a couple of low spots in my picture. These happened when I applied my top coat. I was a bit too heavy-handed with the brush when my color was still wet. Fail!!

Sansa is absolutely gorgeous. She is deep, dark, and super vampy. There is a lot of sparkle and depth to this one, and she is such a stunner. I love it. No, more than that. I LURVE it. So, so much. It’s delicious.

zoya-edyta-sm

And, finally, here is Edyta, from the Fall 2010 Wicked Collection. She is a complex mixture of gold, olive, blue-green, and smoky gray with a sparkling metallic finish. I found the formula to be good, which is pretty much standard for Zoya. It builds up well and applies easily. I used two coats for full opacity.

When I researched this one online, I found a lot of information talking about how it is a green. I didn’t see that at first. It looked like a pretty straight-forward gray with gold shimmer in the bottle. And it looked fairly gray to my eye when I first swatched it on a swatch wheel. But, in my final swatch picture, which was taken in indirect sunlight (next to a window), I can see a lot more green mixing in with the gold. This is definitely a gorgeous and complex polish. I don’t have anything else like it in my stash.

And that’s a wrap for my small part in Zoya’s Earth Day shenanigans. When I ordered these, I felt unsure about a couple of them. I wasn’t certain if they would be my thing. But, now that I’ve seen them in person and swatched them on my nails, I’m thrilled to say I love every single one of them. Yep! I’m a happy, happy polish hoarder.

Leave a Reply

