My Week in Nails

I feel like this was a pretty good week, nails-wise. I didn’t change my polish a lot, but I wore some polishes that I absolutely loved. Actually, I don’t think I had that “meh” feeling about any of the polishes I wore this week. I think that puts this week squarely in the “win” column for this nail polish hoarder girl.

cdc-daydream-sm

I started off my nails week last weekend with Colores de Carol, Daydream. This is such a pretty polish. It’s holographic, and a lovely orangey-red, coral shade. It’s not really too much of either color, but pretty squarely in the middle. At least, that’s how it reads to my eye. This polish was a surprise favorite of mine from her Pure Imagination Collection. It’s not the kind of color I expect to jump out at me, but I adored this one the moment I saw it on my nails.

cdc-daydream+camellia-sm

I decided to keep this one on for Easter, but I wanted a little bit of something-something extra. You know what a love affair I have with Camellia. I love this topper over pretty much everything, and I decided to give it a try over Daydream. I was blown away by the final look. I love how the iridescent flakes seem to jump out against the soft coral. Depending on the light, I caught flashes of blue, green, red, orange, and purple. It was gorgeous in the sunlight, with all that holographic going on. So pretty! It makes me want to squeal in delight, and I couldn’t stop staring at my nails when I had this combination on them.

stamp-aenglandincenseburner-floweryvines1-sm

Next, I wore A. England, Incense Burner, stamped with China Glaze, Meet Me at the Mirage. The stamped image is from Creative Shop Plate 23. I recently purchased a few A.England polishes, as one of my favorite online vendors had a lovely sale. Incense Burner was one of them. I plan on doing a little haul-type post for these, so I won’t go into too much detail about this particular polish.

But I will say this: YUM-YUMMY-YUM-YUM! I am absolutely and completely in love with this polish. It is vampy and dark and seems to glow from deep down within. It’s so freaking perfect in every way.

marble-cg-upallnight+meetmemirage-opi-ishaveit-sm

For my next manicure, I decided to do a water marble. I had an image in my mind of two tones of blue and a copper color all together. I used OPI, The I’s Have It (the light blue), China Glaze, Up All Night (the dark blue, and my favorite polish of life), and China Glaze, Meet Me at the Mirage (the rosy copper). I used Meet Me at the Mirage for the base color.

This didn’t turn out exactly how I had hoped or planned. I was hoping to have more distinct lines of copper and light blue, with smaller lines of the dark blue running through them. But that’s how it goes with water marbling; you don’t always get what you expect. In particular, I ended up with some bands of icy-looking blue, which must have come from the light blue spreading out over the copper color. Even so, I was happy with how this turned out. I liked all the colors together, and I enjoyed the heck out of wearing this manicure. I may try these colors again later, but in a different pattern or combination.

cg-strawberryfields-sm

For my last manicure, I chose China Glaze, Strawberry Fields. I swatched this one last night with the intention of including it in a future “Tuesday Untried” post. But I loved it so much that I had to put it on as a full manicure right away. I had planned to add stamping, but this polish is just so, so pretty. I had to leave it on its own. And so, I did just that.

This polish is a beautiful, bright pink/strawberry red with scads of gold shimmer. The shimmer is strong, and it shows both in the bottle and on the nail. I thought the formula for this polish was pretty much perfect. She was nearly opaque in one coat, but I ended up using two to make sure there were no low spots. Application was smooth and easy.  I know you won’t believe this, but I love this polish. Love, love, love LOVE it! I can’t believe I’m sitting here typing that for what is essentially a pink. It’s just so, so pretty. I love the color tone and the gold shimmer. This one was on my “I Want It” list for a long time. I couldn’t believe it when I stumbled upon it yesterday during a random stop-in at my local Sally’s. I had never seen it on the shelves before, and, believe me, I had looked! Plus, they were having a buy two, get one free sale. Score!!

That’s a wrap for this week’s polish shenanigans. All in all, a fun and festive week of polish loveliness. As I mentioned at the beginning of this post, I loved everything I wore this week. Oddly enough, I think my favorite would be a toss-up between the A.England polish and Strawberry Fields. I know! A pink!! I’m so happy I finally have that one in my stash.

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Week in Nails

  1. I have to say that at least from the pics, my fave for the week is the watermarble. RIP. That A. England polish looks like one I’d love. And as for Strawberry Fields, it must be something about that shimmer huh?

    Like

    1. Yeah … I was so sad when the water marble got ruined. Usually, I would wear gloves, but I was too lazy to go downstairs and get them. So dumb of me. >.O The A. England (Incense Burner) is so right up your alley! It would look fabulous on you! I think the shimmer is the thing with Strawberry Fields. I was surprised at how it looks more pink in the bottle, but comes off much more red on my nails.

      Like

    1. Thanks! *cyberhugs* I liked that water marble. I was sad that I didn’t get to wear it for very long. I accidentally ruined it while cleaning out some empty nail polish bottles with acetone. Ugh. So dumb of me. You should definitely give water marbling a try! I’m sure you will be great at it, and love it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

