My Week in Nails + (long overdue) March Faves

I’m sitting here at my computer, thinking about the polish I wore this week and feeling super surprised that another week has flown by me at super sonic speed. I have to say, though, this has been a pretty great week. It was Spring Break for my kiddo, and we’ve been making the most of it: sleeping in most days, watching shows together, long walks with the dogs, and a few more fun things tossed in for good measure. It has been a busy but fantastic week. I have loved every second of it, and having all this extra time with my daughter has made me start longing for summer already. I have to be patient, though. Time already goes by too quickly. I don’t want to speed it up any more!!

I did manage to find some manicure time here and there during the week. I managed to wear four different manicures this week. For the most part, I went with “normal” (as in no artwork) manicures. I was a bit worn out, nail art-wise, after last week’s water marble extravaganza, but I still managed to sneak a little bit of it into the week. This was the first week I felt it was warm enough to live in sandals, so I painted my toesies a couple of times this week, too. I will, however, spare you the feet pictures. You may thank me later.

sc-fliptease-sm

I started out the week with Sinful Colors, Flip Tease. This is one of the Kandee Johnson polishes. It’s a gorgeous turquoise with beautiful pink shimmer running throughout. You can actually see the shimmer in different lights, although it doesn’t show up here in my picture. (This is an old photo, from when I originally swatched the polish for my  blog review. I’m re-using it to save storage space on here.)

I loved this polish! LOVED IT!! When I swatched it for the review, I liked it, which, as I recall, surprised me. This type of color usually isn’t my thing. I figured I would like it okay — certainly well enough to justify the $2.99 price tag — but it wouldn’t be a favorite. Well … Now that I have worn this one on my nails as a manicure, I can say I am head over heels in lovey-lust with this polish. It is so, so, so pretty on the nail. I’m not sure how to explain it, but something about this color made me feel really peaceful and happy when I saw it on my nails. It was super easy to work with, too, so this one is a complete winner for me, all around!

zoya-lotus-sm

For my next manicure, I wore Zoya, Lotus. (I’m also using my older, original swatch photo for this one because it was already uploaded and stored on here.) This is a grayed-out purple with magenta (or maybe brighter purple?) glitter. The glitter is small and a bit sparse, although you can see it on the nail.

I had planned to wear this polish last month, but I somehow lost it in my storage drawers. Yikes!! I thought I was going crazy. I was all, “I want to wear Lotus. I know I bought Lotus in the Black Friday sale. Right? Didn’t I do that?” Um. Yeah. Polish hoarder problems are real. I finally found her hiding in one of my untried drawers, and I was all, “GET ON MAH NAILS NOW!!!”

Oh my gosh, but I adore this polish. Adore it! It is so elegant and calm and just stunning. I love how the glitters wink and twinkle out at me from the depths of the polish. I could not get enough of turning my nails this way and that to catch the light in different ways so that I could see all the depth and dimension in this polish. I love it so much; it makes me want to scream.

cdc-hotspots-sm

Next, I wore Colores de Carol, Hot Spots. This is a white crelly with different colors and shapes of matte glitter, as well as matte black shards.

I’ve had this polish for a while, but I have been waiting for the right time to wear it. With the weather warming up quite a bit for us over the past week, as well as sunny days, I definitely felt the time was right! I love this polish. It’s super easy to work with, and it’s just so much freaking fun. Just looking at the picture of it makes me smile. I’m a fan of crellies, anyhow, but this is one of those polishes that I could put on my nails and leave for a week without getting tired of it. For me, that’s saying a LOT!

art-stampdecalflowers-orlyhipoutlandish-sm

For my final manicure this week, I decided to try a little nail art with some stamping decals. I used Orly, Hip and Outlandish as the base color. The flower design is from a Bundle Monster plate. I used Morgan Taylor, Make Me Blush for the pink flower petals, and OPI, Worth a Pretty Penne for the flower centers.

I love Hip and Outlandish. It is a fantastic polish, and I love everything about it, from the color to the finish it has on the nail. It has a great formula, and I found it a joy to work with. Overall, I was happy with how the finished design turned out, but I had a little mishap with my stamping on my middle nail. I was able to salvage it, but it isn’t as perfect as I would like. Eh, what’re ‘ya gonna do? Some days, it just turns out that way. Oddly enough, my right hand came out perfectly. Go figure! Even so, it’s a fun design, and I had fun doing it.

MARCH FAVORITES:

I realized last week (after I had already uploaded my blog entry) that I never posted about my March favorites! Better late than never, right? I went back through my March uploads, and eight manicures really jumped out at me.

cdc-mirage-sm

Colores de Carol, Mirage. There is something I adore about this particular pink. I still haven’t figured it out, but I love it on my nails.

wtrmble-zoya-abby+millie-sm

Water Marble using Zoya, Millie (dark purple) & Abby (light purple). This manicure made me feel so “springy”! I really loved these colors together.

zoya-remy-sm

Zoya, Remy. As I recall, this one tried to stain my nails a little bit. But it’s such a delicious color that it still made it into my favorites. I love how dark and moody it is.

stamp-goldwaves+zoyatart-sm

Zoya, Tart, stamped with Zoya, Brooklyn. I was in love with this particular design and color combination. It makes me think of clouds but also waves because of the blue background.

wtrmarble-zoya-merida+lacey-sm

Water Marble with Zoya, Merida (dark green) & Lacey (light green). This was my first water marble using my new marbling tool. I was so excited with how clearly the petals turned out on this one. Ah. Good memories … *sigh*

stamp-blackfeathers-superchichypothermia-sm

Superchic Lacquer, Hypothermia with feather stamping. This is a perfect, delicious steel blue. I love the cold feeling of this color.

funlacquer-blackholowitch-sm

F.U.N. Lacquer, Black Holo Witch. (This will forever be a sentimental polish for me, as it was a gift from my Nail Bestie! *cyberhugs*)

cdc-mila-sm

Colores de Carol, Mila. I think this is one of the most perfect light/sky blues I own. And this is saying a lot, because blues are my jam!

 

6 thoughts on “My Week in Nails + (long overdue) March Faves

  1. Yay Friday Favorites! I love all of your faves for the month, especially the watermarbles you did and the Zoya blues. Also, I have no idea what you’re talking about when you say you messed up the stamping on your middle nail. *cyberhugs* back atcha!

    Like

    1. Awww, thanks! I think my stamping mishap didn’t show up as much in the picture. But part of the design didn’t transfer onto my middle nail. I had to “patch” it in. It didn’t turn out too badly, considering I had to do that. So I was still proud of it.

      Like

    1. You NEED Lotus. Seriously! I think that color was made for you. ^.~ It’s so gorgeous in person, but difficult to capture in a photo, which makes me sad. You could always pick out 5 more Zoyas and get them for free, since the Earth Day special is happening … =P

      Like

Leave a Reply

