Tuesday Untrieds #4

So, it’s Tuesday, and I’m back with another set of Tuesday Untrieds. I’m really starting to like this blog feature. It’s fun to try out new things and see how well they work (or not … I’m looking at you, Mirror Escape. Ugh.). Plus, I am making some great headway through swatching out all of my untried polishes. This is fabulous for a few reasons. One: Finding new polish that I love! What could be better than that? Two: Knowing all those polishes were sitting in my drawers, untried and unloved, was giving me a huge guilt feeling. This lessens that. And Three: More storage space! Yaaaaas!!! Storage problems are real, people. They are so real. And so painful.

sc-kobalt-sm

So, first up today, I have Sinful Colors, Kobalt. This is one of the polishes from the 2016 Kylie Jenner Denim & Bling Collection. This is a medium to dark blue. I think the color would appear darker depending on how many coats you apply. It has a lot of silver shimmer. The formula is pretty good. In looking at my nails in person, I felt happy with the opacity in two coats. But in looking at my photo, I can see a couple of low spots, which makes me think I should have done three for the camera. The camera sees all. And it burns. Application was easy and smooth, and this is very textured on the nail with just a hint of glitter or sparkle.

I’m not sure if you remember, but Denim & Bling was a HUGE collection. Actually, I think there were a couple of huge collections around at almost the same time. It was a confusing polish time for me, but that’s neither here nor there. Seriously, I have so much trouble keeping Sinful Colors straight with their collections. There were quite a few polishes that I saw online from these Kylie Jenner collections that I was all, “Ooooh! I need that!! *grabby hands*” But I couldn’t find all of them. Meh. I think I will live, so that’s a good thing.

But this polish … I LIKE! This was one of the ones that I really wanted, and I’m so happy I was able to find it. Generally, I’m not a fan of textured polishes. I pretty much always put multiple coats of top coat on them for the smooth, shiny look. I love this polish for the color. It is the perfect denim blue color, just like your favorite, faded pair of comfortable jeans. The texture didn’t feel overwhelming to me, but that might be because I love the color so, so much. I used one coat of top coat in my photo, but I will probably use two coats when I wear this one, which I am hoping to do fairly soon.

opi-blackdressnotoptional-sm

Next is OPI, Black Dress not Optional, from the Holiday 2016 Breakfast at Tiffany’s Collection. This is a black with a subtle silver shimmer. You can see the shimmer — sort of — in some lighting. For the most part, you can’t see the shimmer as “shimmer”, but it softens up the overall look of this polish on the nail. I thought the formula was pretty decent. It was a little sheer on the first coat, but it built up easily. It leveled out well, and was opaque for me in two coats. I found it easy to work with. It went on smoothly.

I really like this polish. I found the sheerness of the first coat a little disheartening, but I quickly got over that once I smoothed on that second coat and saw it build up. Even though you can’t really see the silver shimmer, I love how it softens up the black. This isn’t a harsh, stark look on the nail, but you can see that it definitely looks black, without straying into “darkish grey” territory.

opi-blackcherrychutney-sm

This is OPI, Black Cherry Chutney. This is a dark, brown-toned burgundy with gold shimmer. Looking at my photo, I guess you will have to take my word for it that there is gold shimmer in there — somewhere. Because, honestly, I can’t see it in my picture. This polish is super pretty in the bottle. Unfortunately, I found the formula of this one to be difficult. Application was harder than I expected. The polish pulled like mad and left low spots on my nails. You can even see them in the picture, which is after two rather thick coats. I probably should have used three, but I was just “done” with this one after two.

I’m kinda on the fence about this one. I love it in the bottle, and I expected to love it on my nails, too. I’m a huge fan of these types of “almost black” colors, and I think OPI generally does a great job with them. This is the type of dark and vampy polish I usually love to wear. But I was underwhelmed. Application was spotty for me, and the shimmer/glitter doesn’t show up on the nail. But I do like the color and the shiny, squishy, jelly-like finish on the nail. I’ll likely stick this one back in my drawers to try again at a later time. If it still underwhelms me, it will have to find a new home.

opi-tobecontinued-sm

Finally, here is OPI, To Be Continued. It is from the Infinite Shine line, and part of the Summer 2015 Collection. This is a bright sky blue. The formula is a bit meh. I got it opaque in two coats, although I made the mistake of going a bit too thick with my application for my swatch picture. It was not an easy polish to apply.

Believe it or not, I’m pretty on the fence about this one, too. I adore the color. I also like the overall appearance of the polish on the nail. It has a soft and subtle sort of look to it, like springtime rain or something. You would think this would make it a no-brainer that I would keep it and wear it a ton. These types of blues are my thing. Any blue is pretty much my thing. But … This polish is just so finicky. I did not have fun applying it. It was a chore, and not a nice chore, at that. I have so many other blues or blue-grays that are similar to this in color but much easier to work with. I think it’s pretty likely that this one will end up finding a new home.

And that’s a wrap for yet another edition of “Try Them on Tuesday”. Did any of you guys try these polishes? If so, did you like them? I would love to hear what you think in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Tuesday Untrieds #4

  1. I can see why you didn’t like Black Cherry Chutney from your photo. I cannot remember for sure, but it’s quite possible I did need three coats in my swatch picture. I caught the shimmer, but you can see how overexposed my skin is because my lights are blaring. https://www.instagram.com/p/BOsH18cgFPo/ And when I went outside in shade or overcast light, the shimmer was invisible. It looked like a black creme to me, although, less harsh than true black. For me, I seem to prefer shades like Rich & Brazilian that are super dark, but you can still tell easily they’re not black. Rich & Brazilian, you can really see the shimmer and that helps lighten up the look.

    The Infinite Shine one reminds me of the shade my treatment room ceiling was formerly painted, it was called “Sky.” When I had a leak I changed the paint to “Lichen,” but I kind of miss the sky color!

    Like

    1. I love the color on that Infinite Shine polish. But the formula was too disappointing. I’ve decided I won’t keep it. Luckily, I had lunch with one of my friends yesterday, and she mentioned the blog post and how much she liked that polish. So I think it will go live with her. Yay for happy endings!

      Black Cherry Chutney was such a bitter disappointment. I was really prepared to love it, bit it felt like such a dud for me. *sigh*

      Like

      1. Yeah, my swatch looks pretty nice, but you are right, it doesn’t look like that in real life. Still, I like to keep it around in case I want an off black.

        My Infinite Shine “Get Rid-of-Thym Blues” is an excellent formula. I’ve used it on the swatch wheel a lot (also as an off black) and it seems to have thickened into a one coater!

        Like

  2. PS Some of my Infinite Shine polishes are great (maybe better after thickening up?) but I got that one, Raisin the Bar, that felt luscious and I thought I liked the formula, till it ran all over my cuticles! Would not stay where I put it. I *thought* it was going to be great…. maybe I should try leaving the cap off overnight.

    Like

    1. Maybe they do get better over time … I have one that is a darker blue — cant remember the color name — and I like it a lot. It was easy to work with, and color was beautiful. Overall, I never buy these at full price, though. They’re just not worth it to me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

