My Week in Nails

Another Friday, and another week gone by. I sometimes think I should wax poetic about the passage of time and how quickly all of it seems to be spinning away from me at light speed. Sometimes, I do feel that way. I can’t believe how quickly time seems to fly by. And yet, I can’t regret it because … More Nail Polish!! Yep. More time passing means more nail polish fun and shenanigans. It probably doesn’t make a lot of sense to anyone but me. But hey, whatever gets me through the day, right?

My theme for this week was … PURPLE! Purple is a color I like and a color I frequently purchase. In particular, I feel drawn to cooler, blue-toned purples, but I will almost always pick up the purples in any new collection I purchase. I also tend to jump at purples that I find out in the wilds of the internet or random shopping spots. And yet, I realized last week that I don’t wear purple a lot. Plus, it’s just a fun and funny word to say (or type). Purple … purple … purple … The more  you say or type it, the more it starts to seem like a completely bizarre, made-up word. Or, maybe that’s just me? *nervous laugh* At any rate, it seemed like a good time to hand out some purple luvvin’ to my polish stash.

nwp-sevensevenseven-sm

I started off the week with Seven, Seven, Seven!!, one of the last polishes I have left from the Native War Paints Friends Collection. I think I have worn all the others from this collection (which is fantastic, fabulous, and All The Things) in a full manicure. But this little darling was left sitting, feeling completely unloved, in my gonna-wear-it-soon pile. No, pretty polish! Don’t feel unloved! I love you. I really, really do!! I just got distracted by a lot of new things. What can I say? I’m a sucker for the shiny.

I won’t go into a ton of detail with this one, as I posted a review of the whole collection earlier. Suffice to say, I love it. In some lights, this felt like a cool-toned purple with blue undertones. In others, it felt like a warmer color with reddish undertones. Maybe I’m just nots. Or maybe it’s the iridescent flakes, which flash red, blue, green, purple … and on and on … within the polish. I love these flakes. So, so, so much. Just as I loved this polish! It’s beautiful and fun to wear. What more could a polish junkie ask for?

wtrmble-zoya-abby+millie-sm

For my next purple adventure, I did a water marble using all Zoya polishes. This is with Millie and Abby. I used one coat of Millie as the base.

I loved this manicure. I was so, so proud of this water marble. It’s one of the best I’ve ever done. I had to fight for it, though. I started out using a white base (Zoya, Genesis), because I really loved the way my test marbles looked over white. It turned out white didn’t work as well in real life. The purples didn’t go all the way to the edges of my nails. For some reason, they pulled away from the white base, and it was too hard to repair all of that. I ended up taking everything off and redoing the entire manicure with Millie as the base, instead. It worked out much better, and I think it even deepened the purples in the manicure. I had a hard time taking this one off, but I knew I had to do it. My purple quest for the week had to continue, and I wanted to get through as much purple as possible! Oh, how I suffer for beauty. *ahem*

stamp-cdc-olivia+cg-magical+outlikelight-sm

Next, I decided I wanted to do a light purple. I chose Colores de Carol, Olivia. Once I had it on my nails, I thought to myself, “Self, you know what this manicure needs? Unicorns!” And, of course, my Self said, “Yaaaaaas! That is EXACTLY what it needs!” And so Starry Unicorn Goodness happened.

I’m still working on my stamping game. I think I’m getting better, but these unicorns were hella hard to pick up. It didn’t matter what polish I used, I would miss part of the horn or nose on pretty much every other stamp. You can see here that I finally gave up and put only part of the horn on my ring finger. I’m not sure if this is due to my technique, or if it’s because this particular stamping image was full of teeny, fine lines. The stars were a breeze. I used China Glaze, Magical (the stars) and Out Like a Light (the unicorns) for the stamping. The images are from Bundle Monster plate # BM-XL214.

zoya-roxy-sm

For my next manicure, I chose Zoya, Roxy, which is a gorgeous red-toned purple packed with magenta and/or purple glitters. Sometimes, they look magenta. Sometimes, they look purple. But I can’t tell if there are two colors of glitter in here, or if the color shift is a trick of the light playing off the base color. This polish is stunning. Absolutely stunning. It’s very difficult to capture in a photograph, as the glitters seem to hide and wink out of the jelly-like base. It catches the light beautifully.

zoya-roxy+cdc-camellia-sm

After I had worn Roxy for about half a day, I decided I wanted to try topping it with Colores de Carol, Camellia. Because, seriously, this topper is All The Things + A Bag of Chips. Yes, I love it that much. It is that fabulous. It looks amazing over any polish, and it looked amazing over Roxy, too. I loved this final result, although I had hoped to see some of Roxy’s glitter peering out among the holo and the iridescent flakes. That wasn’t meant to be, but it was a minor disappointment, overall.

stamp-opi-pollywannalacquer+ch-dontdesertme-sm

And, finally, my manicure for today. This is OPI, Polly Want a Lacquer? as a base, with China Glaze, Don’t Desert Me for the stamped images. I used my favorite feather image from Bundle Monster Plate # BM-XL212. I really like the soft, almost dusty tone to this lilac polish. It feels very pretty and Spring-like to me. And I thought Don’t Desert Me did a fantastic job for stamping. My images came out really clear and pretty, with no smearing or smudging. All in all, this is a fun manicure, and I’m super happy with how it turned out. It’s a great way to wrap up a fun week of purples!

And so, that’s it! Most of my nail polish adventures for the past week. It was a wild and crazy ride at times, but definitely worth it to enjoy these beautiful polishes. I think I may do PINK for my theme next week. That’s going to be a tough one for me, as pink is not my friend. I keep on buying pink polishes, but, whenever I wear them, I usually think about how much I don’t like pink. So maybe this is a good challenge to help me learn to love pink. We shall see …

 

4 thoughts on “My Week in Nails

  1. If you do pink next week, don’t neglect to post all your photos to Instagram and announce you’re doing a pink week! Maybe you can try some different pinks and see which you like best on you? That Native War Paints one is really gorgeous!

    Like

    1. I should probably do a collage of them or something. I was debating over that for last week’s purple theme. But I felt bad reposting pictures I had already put up. That’s why I only did my Friday one as a plug for the post — LOL. I need to learn the Instagram etiquette. Or maybe there isn’t any Instagram etiquette … ??

      Like

      1. Far as I can tell the Instagram etiquette is: the more posts the better! You’re holding out on us by not posting all your shots! And yes, people want to see the summary at week’s end too. It reminds them of how cool you are 🙂

        Like

      2. LOL! I’m not sure I can live up to cool vibes, but I shall try. I’ve been trying to up my Instagram game, so I think the trick is to “just do it” until I feel more comfortable with sharing the shots.

        Like

Leave a Reply

