Tuesday Untrieds

Like most polish hoarders, I tend to end up with quite a stash of untried nail polishes. Or, maybe I’m just more of an addict than other polish hoarders … but, let’s not think on that for too long. These are polishes that it might take me a while to wear, but they don’t fit neatly into any haul or collection review. In an effort to sort of clear out some of my untried polishes, I thought it would be fun to do a regular type of post about them. My thought is that, once I have swatched these, I can decide if I want to wear them in the near future, if they are going to go into my storage drawers to wear later, or if the color or polish just isn’t for me and, thus, needs to find a new home.

There won’t be any rhyme or reason to these posts. Many of these — actually most of them — are older polishes. I’ve had some of them sitting in the untried drawers for months. Others are from older collections, but they are new acquisitions for me. I’m slowly swatching my way through all of the untried polishes; I have about two storage drawers filled with them — yikes! I was thinking I would pull five of them out, at random, for each of these posts.

And so … let the randomness begin!

cdc-beso-sm

This is Colores de Carol, “Beso”. She is from the 2016 Valentine’s Day Trio, although this gorgeous polish is a very new acquisition for me. I only received her a few days ago. This polish is a pinkish-red / raspberry holographic. The formula for this pretty lady is perfect. It was easily opaque in two coats, and almost in one.

I LOVE this polish! In part, it’s no surprise. After all, this is Colores de Carol. And I adore pretty much everything that brand creates. But, it’s also a little bit surprising because of the color. This is not a color I generally gravitate toward. I’m usually not much for reds or pinks, and this polish is a little of both. But it is so, so, so gorgeous. The color was a delightful surprise to me. It is much more vibrant on the nail than in the bottle. I find the finish juicy, and the color is flirty and playful. This one is definitely going in my “gotta wear it soon” pile!

cg-blueya-sm

Next up is China Glaze, “Blue-Ya!”. She is from the Fall 2016 Rebel Collection. This polish is a mid- to dark-toned blue jelly base with blue and purple shimmer running through it. I found the formula of this polish to be nice and easily workable. I felt that it was opaque after two coats, although I notice a couple of low spots in my swatch picture. I might do three coats the next time I wear it, just in case. This one is so easy to apply that a third coat really doesn’t feel like work.

I was a huge fan of the Rebel Collection. I ended up buying half of the collection, but I never did a review of it. I think it came out before I got started with my nail blog. At any rate, I like this polish. A lot. A lot, lot! The shimmers distribute nicely across the nail, and I like the overall finished look of it. I can see a lot of the blue and purple shimmer, but I also see some green tones peeking through. I’m sure this is the blue shimmer interacting with the blue base, but it’s a lovely surprise. I was so in love with this polish when I first saw it in the bottle, and I am still in love with it now that I’ve done a quick swatch of it on my nails. I have no idea why it has taken me so long to wear it — but this one definitely goes into my “gotta wear it soon” pile!!

cg-teenspirit-sm

This is China Glaze, “Teen Spirit”. She is also from the Fall 2016 Rebel Collection. This polish has a deep purple jelly base with blue shimmer/glitter. The glitter is a little bit understated, and you need a nice top coat to get it to pop. The formula of this polish was lovely. It was opaque in two easy coats. I didn’t notice any low spots on my nails.

This polish feels like the moodier, vampier, more purple sister to “Blue-Ya!”. I also like this one quite a lot. I like it a lot more on the nail than I did in the bottle, which is always a happy surprise. It has a very dark and moody vibe to it, and the glitters, which seem to lurk deeply down in the purple base, just give it that little extra “something-something”. This one reminds me of mood rings from my youth. I’m definitely adding this one to my “gotta wear it soon” stack.

opi-paletothechief-sm

This is OPI, “Pale to the Chief”. She is from the Fall 2016 Washington DC Collection, and is one of four polishes I purchased from that collection. This polish is a very light, champagne nude with a subtle shimmer. The shimmer looks pearlescent in the bottle. The formula was great on this one. It was opaque in two coats, although I had to be careful of brush pressure so that I didn’t cause low spots near my cuticles.

I am on the fence about this polish. I can’t decide if I like it or not. It is a beautiful color. I really like the almost pearly finish it has, and the formula is pretty fantastic, especially for such a light polish. But I can’t decide if I like it on my skin. I’m definitely keeping this one, but I decided to put it away in my storage drawers to await the day when I want to wear it again.

opi-squeakerofthehouse-sm

And, finally, we have OPI, “Squeaker of the House”. She is also from the Fall 2016 Washington DC Collection. This polish is a mid-tone, chocolate brown. It has a great formula, and was opaque in two easy coats.

I really like this polish. The application was flawless, and I like this shade of brown against my pale skin. It’s not really an exciting or different color, but it’s still beautiful. I feel like this is a very wearable neutral, although I don’t think I’m going to be wearing it soon. It found a home in my drawers with my other OPIs to await its day in the sun (so to speak — ha!).

And that’s a wrap for my first Try Them On Tuesday post! I hope this will be a fun series, and that I will be able to keep up with it. I hope to continue the Tuesday theme for these, but I will have to see how life treats me. It gets a bit too crazy sometimes! At any rate, I already have twelve more polishes that I have swatched and researched for future posts. It makes me happy to think I might be able to put a dent in those untried drawers!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Untrieds

    1. Isn’t that a gorgeous polish? It really surprised me, which is always a fun thing. When I get enough time, I think I’m going to put it on my toes. I’m hoping to get some untried progress going. My huge pile is starting to make me feel guilty. >.O

      Like

Leave a Reply

