My Week in Nails

My week has not exactly gone as planned. I had a few posts planned, and I intended to get at least one or two of them up over the past week. It wasn’t meant to be. My week ended up being much too busy, with errands and taking care of the house and doing stuff for my husband and daughter. I have to be honest and say that my life, at the moment, isn’t much fun. I love my family, and I do love doing things for them. I do. But the past few months have felt, more or less, like I am the only person hauling this wagon train forward. It’s a bit exhausting, both mentally and physically. Sadly, I think this is just going to be my life for the foreseeable future. Bleh.

My nail polish addiction has definitely been a high point for me over the past week. I just love those little, brightly-colored bottles of paint! It’s really great to know I have an easy (and legal!) way to get a bit of a pick-me-up when I’m feeling down or overly stressed. And, basically, I’m feeling down and overly stressed a LOT lately. It will get better, eventually. I just have to keep telling myself this.

cdc-rooster-sm

I started off my week with Colores de Carol, “Rooster”. This is a special, limited edition polish that Colores de Carol made in honor of the Chinese New Year, which is the Year of the Rooster. It is a gold base with linear holographic, red and gold micro glitters, and larger red and gold glitters.

Oh. My. GOSH!! Just look at this polish. Look at it!! Even if this was the most horrible polish in the world, I would have bought it because I was born in the Year of the Rooster. But it’s not the most horrible polish. It is the most gorgeous, amazing, marvelous, special polish!!! I can’t say enough wonderful things about it. I love it so much, and I felt really special when I had this on my nails. The combination of red and gold is perfect. I love the larger, bright red glitters peeking through and contrasting with the gold. And this polish has sparkle to spare in the sunlight. It’s delicate but also kind of in-your-face. I love everything about it.

stamp-feathergradient-seche-callalily-sm

For my next manicure, I decided to try a little nail art. I’m still working on learning how to stamp, and I thought it would be fun to try a little gradient. I love this feather pattern. I used Seche Premier Colour, “Calla Lily” for the base. I stamped with Bundle Monster, “Sky Blue”, “Electric Pink”, and “Sunshine Yellow”. Then, after I was all done with the stamping, I decided to add a little bit of China Glaze, “Fairy Dust”. Because, you know … Fairy Dust All The Things. Um … Yeah.

Overall, I was pretty happy with how this turned out. I am definitely a stamping noob. This is only my second attempt at doing a stamping manicure. There were things that could have gone better, but I think that’s probably true for every manicure. This was a fun one to do, and it was a fun look to wear. I will probably do this combination again during the summer. It feels very summery to me, in a way.

cdc-vintagelights-sm

Next, I wore  Colores de Carol, “Vintage Lights”. This is a clear jelly base packed with glitters. There are small champagne and holographic glitters, as well as larger glitters in a multitude of colors. I used three coats for my swatch picture, and I found the polish built up nicely. I brushed it on, and didn’t have trouble with the base being too heavy, but I bet you could get it opaque in two coats if you sponged it. I think this polish would also be beautiful as a topper.

I’m so in love with this polish. I can’t even. This is one of those polishes that I could put on my nails and, basically, never take off. It is so sparkly and unique. But, at the same time, it is dainty and feminine. I couldn’t get enough of it. It looks exactly like old-fashioned Christmas lights on a Christmas tree. I know, I know. We’re not in the Christmas season any more. But I think this polish is lovely to wear any time of the year. I am planning to bust it back out next Christmas, though!

zoya-teigen-sm

My next manicure was with Zoya, “Teigen”. This is a lovely, luscious cranberry packed with gold fleck/shimmer. I feel like the finish is somewhere between a glass fleck and a foil. These are both finishes that I adore, so it was a no-brainer that I would LOVE this polish.

And, I do love it! The base color is rich and deep. It has a very juicy feeling to me on the nail. And the way the gold plays off of the cranberry makes this polish feel luxurious. It applied like a dream, and was opaque in two easy coats. This is another one that I think would be perfect as a holiday season polish, although it’s also beautiful any time of the year. I think this one would also be perfect for late Summer, into Fall.

cg-gettingtognawyou-sm

Next, I wore China Glaze, “Getting to Gnaw You”. This is a black base packed with pinkish-coppery glitters. And, when I say “packed”, I mean PACKED!!

I found this one during a recent Marshall’s run. I was super excited to find it, as this is one of those Halloween polishes that came out before I was super back into polish. I didn’t buy it when it first came out, and I had always wanted to get a bottle of it. Zombie Zest is another one. I would love, love, LOVE to get a bottle of Zombie Zest. *sigh*

I like this polish. But I didn’t LOVE it, which was a bit disappointing. It wasn’t what I expected on the nail. It built up to feel rather thick and a bit clumpy. I don’t know if this is because it’s an older polish, or if it’s because I was a bit heavy-handed with application. Or, perhaps, a combination of those two things. Also, I wore it when we were having sunny weather with the temperatures in the 70s. I think, possibly, my brain might have wanted something a bit more “spring”, just because of the sudden weather change. I am planning on trying this one again. I will definitely be pulling it out again next Fall, if not sooner. Because there’s a little polish junkie voice in my head telling me that I will end up loving it.

cdc-vida-sm

And, finally (!!), the polish I have on today. This is Colores de Carol, “Vida”. This is Colores de Carol’s offering for the 2017 Pantone Color of the Year, which is Greenery. This polish is a mid-tone green with a hint of yellow undertone and linear holographic. I don’t remember if this was a limited edition polish, but it is marked as “sold out” on the Colores de Carol website.

So … first things first. Let’s talk about the elephant in this blog post: My little, short, nubbin-nails! Ack! The reason my Teigen manicure only lasted a day was because I got a break on the pinkie nail of my left hand. It broke super far down, almost to the quick. I patched it up before I put on the China Glaze polish, but the patch wasn’t holding very well. So, I ended up filing everything down pretty short. I’m weird about wanting my nails to have a uniform length. The break on my pinkie nail is still there. It was so far down that I couldn’t take the nail down to the break without removing all of the free edge. I’m hoping it will hold until it grows out enough that I can get past that little break. Nail struggles … *sigh*

Even though I really liked the longer length my nails had reached, I can honestly say I don’t mind having little Shorty McShorties, either. I like short nails, and think most colors are really cute on them. This gorgeous green is no exception! I adore this polish, and I’m so happy I was able to snag a bottle of it for my stash. It is such a juicy, pretty color. It makes me feel hopeful and like Spring is just around the corner!

2 thoughts on “My Week in Nails

  1. I really love the look of “Getting to Gnaw You.” I always hear about Zombie Zest and It’s Alive (actually, I’ve probably just heard Miss Holly Berries raving about them in about 10 different videos,) but I had not seen this one till you swatched it. It looks great in the picture! And I love the colors, so I look forward to hearing if it applies better the next time. Sometimes you just have to know what you’re in for going in, right?

    Like

    1. Yes! I totally agree! I wasn’t expecting it to be as thick and textured as it was. I like the look of it. I really like the look of the coppery glitter with a black base. It’s a good combo. I’m the same way with Zombie Zest. I wonder if I would really like it enough to buy it if I ever saw it in person. But YouTube makes me feel like I NEED it. Ha, ha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

