Shopping Haul: Seche Polish, Premier Color

I have looked at Seche Polish for about forever. And a day. There was a fairly small display of it at my local Ulta, and I would browse the colors each time I stopped in there. Mostly, I was intrigued because of my love for the Seche Vite top coat. Even so, I never took the plunge to try them out. Until now! Woot!!

I was at my Sally’s Beauty Supply a week or so ago, and I found they had all of their Seche Premier Color polishes on clearance. At about $4 each, the price was right, and I decided to pick up a few of them. “Premier Color” is Seche’s version of long-lasting / gel-type polish. The idea is that you use a special base coat, apply the color, and then use a special sealant (top coat) so that your manicure will last an extra long time.

When I purchased these, the sales clerk urged me to get the special base and top coats. She said she had tried them, and her manicure lasted for a couple of weeks. I remain a bit skeptical of this assertion, but I suppose it could be true. After all, everyone’s body chemistry is different, and even regular polish can last that long on some people. For myself, longevity didn’t matter all that much. I rarely wear a manicure for more than two days. If I keep one on for three, it feels like FOREVER. I told the clerk this, and she looked at me like I had three heads. Oh well. Polish Addiction remains a misunderstood disease. In the end, I didn’t buy the special base and top coats, so I can’t speak to actual wear time for these polishes.

seche-callalily-sm

First up is “Calla Lily”. There’s not much to say about this one, color-wise. It’s white. And I don’t mean white with a little smidge of glitter or a dusting of some other color or some kind of shiny, shimmery flecks. Nope. It’s just plain, old white. I don’t mean this as a negative at all. You wouldn’t think it should be this way, but I love white polish. Even though my skin tone is so light that I could almost be invisible in the right lighting, I like the way stark white polish looks on my nails. I’m not sure I can explain it, but there’s just something about it that I love. I’ll just leave it at that. Also, white polish works well as a base coat for a lot of different nail art looks, as well as under different toppers or sheer polishes. It’s always a good thing to have a nice white.

I have to say that this is a nice one. It had a nice and creamy consistency, and it was pretty easy to apply — especially for a white. White polishes are notoriously difficult and streaky. They often have thin formulas. This one was on the thicker side. I felt the first coat was a bit patchy, but not as bad as I expected it to be. And it leveled out pretty nicely with the second coat. I’m used to doing at least three coats with most whites, so having a solid two-coater felt pretty darn great. If I was using this under nail art, I feel like I could go thicker with my first coat and get away with only one. I didn’t have any trouble with pooling or running on this one, and clean-up was a snap. I liked this polish so much that I’m thinking about going back to get at least one more bottle before they all sell out.

seche-vivacious-sm

Next, we have “Vivacious”. This is a muted, almost dusty-looking blue-green. I could almost call it a teal, although I feel it leans a bit more toward the blue side of life. This color reminds me a lot of a cross between China Glaze, “For Audrey” and OPI, “Can’t Find My Czechbook”. I haven’t compared it to those colors yet, but I’m guessing it might fall somewhere in between them: a bit darker than For Audrey and a bit lighter than Czechbook. Overall, this is a color I enjoy quite a lot, as evidenced by the fact that I keep on buying it in different brands. One of these days, I will say to myself, “Self, you already have a gazillion bottles of that color. You don’t need another one.” But, yeah … the day I bought this was not that day.

Overall, I liked this polish. I found the formula to be smooth and workable. No trouble with flooding or pooling. It applied fairly smoothly. I didn’t have trouble with streaking, but there were some low patches on the first coat. The second coat went on like a dream and leveled out nicely. I really love both For Audrey and Can’t Find My Czechbook, but I have found both of them to have rather finicky and difficult formulas. I don’t know if it’s just my bottles of them or what, but both of those polishes can be a pain in the hoo-hah. So I like that I now have a polish in this color tone that is easier to apply.

seche-candid-sm

This is “Candid”. I know what you’re thinking: “Wait just a millisecond, that’s just like Ruby Pumps! Why, oh why, would you buy a polish that is JUST LIKE Ruby Pumps? Are you insane? Are you daft? Are you both?!?”

Um … Yeah. This polish is super similar to Ruby Pumps. The similarity is pretty darn obvious, and I did see it right away. Actually, the fact that it is similar to Ruby Pumps is the main reason I purchased this one. I am firmly on the Ruby Pumps band wagon. I don’t think I’m overstating things when I say that wearing Ruby Pumps for the first time was a life-changing experience for me. It was the first time I had ever worn a red polish that I liked. Now, I have found several reds I like, but Ruby Pumps remains a favorite. Consequently, I am automatically drawn to polishes like this one. I haven’t compared Candid to Ruby Pumps, so I don’t know if they are dead-on dupes or not. Honestly, I don’t care. Which probably means that I am daft. And a little bit insane. Remember what I said earlier about Polish Addiction? Yeah. The struggle is real, folks.

I enjoyed the heck out of this polish! I love everything about it. It’s a bold, vibrant, gorgeous shade of red. The glitters are beautiful: just enough for some sparkle, but not so much that they are overwhelming. I love the juicy, jelly-like finish on the nail. When I put this one on, I looked down at my nails and thought, “Why the heck don’t I wear reds more often?” Yeah. That’s a good red. On the downside, I think I ended up using three coats to get this one really opaque. I was totally okay with that, as application was easy, and the color pay-off made it worth the extra effort to me.

seche-jubilant-sm

And, finally, the last of my haul is “Jubilant”. This one is also a rather green-leaning blue, but it’s much lighter than Vivacious. This is another color tone I really enjoy, and I tend to buy this color whenever I see it. What can I say? I am totally predictable.

Out of the four polishes that I purchased, this one was my least favorite. It hurts me to say this. I think it was my favorite, color-wise. But the formula was a bit difficult with this one. I needed three coats, and the first two were both streaky. The polish had a tendency to lift up off the nail if I went in too hard with my brush. And I had a hard time getting the third coat to level out. On the plus side, I really like how this looks on the nail once it is opaque. I will definitely be giving it another try to see if I like it better the next time I wear it.

 

2 thoughts on “Shopping Haul: Seche Polish, Premier Color

  1. Interesting! I keep seeing these at Sally’s but have not tried them. I tend to think that most, if not all of the “no light gel” systems available are basically just a premium grade polish paired with a nice top and/or base. I do think some of the topcoats dry under normal light but I am not sure that really makes any difference in wear time. I think someone going from just average polish to good base/good polish/good top is going to notice a difference in wear time. I think if someone already wears high quality polishes with top and base they are not going to notice as much. I actually got pretty poor wear out of the latest OPI Infinite Shine I wore!

    Like

    1. Oh my gosh! I have never gotten good wear out of the OPI Infinite Shine polishes. Which doesn’t matter so much to me because I change my polish out frequently. I agree, though, that it’s likely not going to be much different from a “normal” (non-gel system) high quality polish. Maybe it varies with body chemistry, too. I never did go back to get any more of these. I thought about it, but just never made it back over to the store. LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

