Superchic Lacquer: Slayeigh The Mountain

I’m so late in sharing this, but I wanted to post about the Superchic Lacquer “Slayeigh the Mountain” collection. I saw so many videos of this collection online, and I thought every polish looked fantastic. Sadly, Superchic tends to be a bit pricey for me. I do think the polish is worth it. They have fabulous formulas and creative takes on color and finish. But I’m not made of money. This means I have to pick and choose and make really tough decisions. The struggle is real. Like … FOR REALz.

I ended up choosing three polishes from this collection. There are a couple more I would dearly love to have, and I might end up trying for them if they ever come back into stock. In particular, there was a sort of coppery, rose gold-looking polish (Powder Burn) that is so, so pretty. I am still kicking myself for not ordering that one, too. Like I said: the struggle is real. Being a polish hoarder isn’t easy, folks!

superchiclacquer-vaporhigh-sm

First up from my own little “mini-haul” is “Vapor High”. The Superchic website describes this polish as, “An incredibly intense vibrant shade of mint teal-blue chrome with sparks of icy silver and gold duo-chrome reflects.”

I didn’t notice much gold in this one on my nails. I felt like I could see some gold in the bottle, depending on the light. The minty blue-greenness of this polish is stunning. I love the silver that is packed in here, as well as the chrome finish/effect on my nails. This polish is icy and flashy (but not too flashy) and absolutely perfect. I don’t have anything in my collection that even comes close to this color, which makes me one happy polish junkie. The color of this one reminded me of aquamarines, although I think it’s much more saturated.  I love, love, love, LOVE this polish. So much. It makes me want to sit down and cry for joy. That’s how much I love it.

superchic-hypothermia-sm

Next up is “Hypothermia”. The Superchic website describes this polish as, “An incredibly intense vibrant shade of chrome periwinkle blue with sparks of icy silver and gold duo-chrome reflects.”

Oh, Mama!! Now this is what I’m talking about!! This color is just … *sigh* It’s like the perfect combination of old denim and the deep blue ice from a glacier. Does that even make sense? Maybe not. But it totally makes sense in my mind.  Which might be rather frightening. I also want to point out that my swatch picture only has one coat of this polish. There are a couple of low spots on my index and middle nails, but, overall, I think this is phenomenal coverage for one coat. The formula of this polish is a dream. It applies so beautifully. It’s one of those polishes that I enjoyed applying, so I almost felt disappointed when I had to stop. I haven’t worn this one in a full manicure yet, but I am looking forward to it. I adore it, and I’m so happy I got this one.

superchic-icedagger-sm

Finally, here is “Ice Dagger”. The Superchic website describes this one as, “An incredibly intense vibrant shade of chrome charcoal with sparks of icy silver and gold duo-chrome reflects.”

So … I have to admit I’m a bit on the fence about this polish. I wore it as a full manicure a couple of days ago, and I felt a bit underwhelmed by it. I think I wanted it to be darker, overall — like more of a black, as opposed to a gray. Or, maybe a darker gray. When I first applied it to my nails, I felt like it took on the color of pencil lead. It just didn’t have the depth or complexity that I was hoping for based on the bottle. BUT … I tossed it on my nails today to grab a quick swatch picture, and I found myself liking it a lot more. Today, I felt like I could see some silver and blue glinting out of the gray as the light hit my nails. The first time I wore this polish, I felt like the gold was overwhelming. It dulled out the gray too much. Today, I liked the way the gold played off of the other colors in the holographic.

Final verdict? I don’t know. I might love it. I might hate it. But I’m definitely giving it another chance. The formula of it is too perfect and lovely for me to write it off that easily.

Leave a Reply

