Colores de Carol: Anniversary Trio + Vida

I was so, so excited yesterday when I looked in my mail box and found a Colores de Carol package waiting for me. I couldn’t believe it!! Talk about the perfect way to put a smile onto an otherwise bummer of a day. I couldn’t wait to open it up and see my beautiful anniversary trio polishes, as well as her new, gorgeous green: Vida.

cdc-anniversarytriovida-sm

Spoiler Alert: I love them all!! Woot!!

These polishes definitely did not disappoint. I found myself falling hard for them from my first in-person look at them, right out of the package. Each of these polishes is so vibrant and beautiful. They are full of holographic and iridescent flakes. This might sound silly, but they feel joyful to me. If “happy-happy-joy-joy” was a set of polishes, it would be these!

cdc-vida-sm

First up, here’s Vida! This polish isn’t part of the Anniversary Trio, but she is the most vibrant, gorgeous, luscious green. This one has a creamy finish and beautiful linear holographic. There is some yellow in with this green, which makes it seem fresh and vibrant — a perfect match for her name! This polish was inspired by the Pantone Color of the Year for 2017, which is a color tone called “Greenery”.

I adore this polish. It goes on so perfectly and smoothly. I got it nicely opaque in two coats, and I didn’t have any trouble with streaking, pulling, or pooling. I was losing the light with my swatch photos, so I wasn’t able to get a lot of holographic flash in my picture. But the holographic is so pretty in here. And the color! Oh my gosh, the color. It. Is. Perfection. I think this is one of the yummiest, prettiest greens in my collection. It feels fresh and vibrant on the nail. When I have this on, it doesn’t matter how gray the winter weather might be: Spring is on the way!

And now … on to the Anniversary Trio! This collection is in honor of Colores de Carol’s 4th anniversary. Four years! How incredible is that? I only discovered this brand over the past year, but it has quickly become a favorite for me. Considering how much I have adored every single polish I have from them (and this brand now has its very own storage drawer in my polish hoard), it’s not hard for me to see why they would still be going strong, four years after they began. I have no doubt this brand will be around for many, many more years to come. The thought of this makes me one happy polish junkie!

cdc-argonfestival-sm

This is Argon Festival. This polish is a bright, vibrant blue with linear holographic and iridescent glitters, which shift between red, gold, and green.

This polish is just … Everything. I am a complete and utter slave to blue polishes. Blue is my favorite color, and, if there is a blue in a collection … Well, I’m usually right there, with my money out and ready to go. This is one of the prettiest blues I have seen in a long time. It is bright but not too bright. It has lovely depth to it without darkness, reminding me of looking down into a glittering, pristine lake on a Spring day. The glitters are sparse, but not too sparse. I feel they are just enough to give you a little something-something extra on the nail, along with the beautiful, sparkling linear holographic. Without trying, I had several of the glitters out on my nails, and I loved how they sparked a pinkish-red in the fading daylight I had for my swatch picture. I feel like the glitters are so delicate, and they coordinate perfectly with the colors in the linear holographic.

Formula-wise, I thought this polish was lovely. I used two coats for my swatch picture, and I don’t recall having any trouble with either coat being streaky or difficult. I like the thickness of this polish a lot. It’s got a nice feel to it: thick but not too thick, and it was easy to work with. Considering how much I love my blues, this one is going to get a ton of wear. In fact, I am wearing it on my nails right now, in a water marble with Vida.

cdc-xenonjamboree-sm

This is Xenon Jamboree. This is a gorgeous, grape-toned purple with linear holographic and the same type of red/gold/green iridescent glitters that are in Argon Festival.

I’m not always a fan of purples, but this one is absolutely delicious. It is so bright and bold. It looks juicy and luscious on the nail, and I love how the reddish shift in the iridescent glitters combines with the reddish undertones in the base color. And then, there is linear holographic, too. zOHMYGOODNESS!!  It is so freaking fantastic!!!! I can’t even. Seriously.

This polish also had a terrific formula. I know I’m sounding more and more like a broken record, but every one of these was beautiful, formula-wise. I used two easy coats for my swatch picture, although I almost wanted to put on a third coat. Not because it needed it, but because this polish is just so much fun to apply. It goes on smoothly and perfectly, and it’s a joy to use.

cdc-goldenjubilee-sm

Finally, here is Golden Jubilee. She is an orange-yellow gold with linear holographic and the same red-gold-green iridescent glitters as her sister polishes.

As much as I am a blue gal … As much as I want to say the blue is my absolute favorite … Yeah. I am in love with this polish. I think I want to marry this polish. Can I marry a nail polish? I think I need a law for that, or something. Because this little darling is beyond perfect. Beyond. Perfect. I love golds. I’m a total sucker for them, so I have quite a few gold polishes in my stash already. This polish is completely different from every other gold I have. It is so deep, rich, and unique. This polish is honey and bourbon mixed together on my nails, topped with lazy Summer days spent floating down my favorite river in an inner tube. Yeah. It’s that freaking gooooood.

As with the others, perfect formula. It goes on smoothly and beautifully, and is opaque in two easy coats. The glitters are sparsely distributed within the polish, but they do come out onto the nail with little to no effort. And I love the coppery-red color they had in my swatch photos. To me, I think this is an all-season polish. I can see it being a beautiful color for Spring because of how vibrant and saturated it is. But it will also easily carry into Summer and Fall because it is rich and complex. And, I think it would make a beautiful Winter polish because … well, gold!

As I said earlier, I loved every single polish I got in this order. These arrived at my house on a gray, cold, rainy Winter day, and they were like a breath of fresh air. I felt my heart grow lighter and my spirit happier even with my very first peek at them. Well done, Colores de Carol! And Happy Anniversary, too!

 

2 thoughts on “Colores de Carol: Anniversary Trio + Vida

Leave a Reply

