A Random Haul: Essie, China Glaze, OPI, Savina

I tend to buy polish a bit randomly. I’m not sure if this is just my own weirdness or if everyone does it this way, but I don’t often buy entire collections of polish. I look at a LOT of polish. Let’s face it: I’m completely obsessed, and I love looking at all those sparkly, shiny new colors each season. But I tend to pick and choose when it comes to the actual purchase. For brands that I particularly love, both mainstream and indie, I will often buy several things from new collections. Otherwise, I tend to pick up polish here and there. I would like to say there is a method to it, but I’m not sure there is. I see things in my wanderings that appeal to me, and I snatch them up. It’s pretty random.

So I thought it would be fun to do some random hauls in here. I’m not sure yet if this will be a regular feature or an every-now-and-again kind of thing. I’ll have to see how it goes, although I suspect I will be able to do this fairly regularly. I can’t pass up a polish display without stopping to browse!

Most of the polishes in this post are from my most recent “random haul”, which I made at my local Nordstrom Rack. Sometimes, their polish selection is super picked over, but they had a decent amount in stock the last time we went. And the last polish is from one of my holiday hauls, which happened over the Christmas holidays. My parents were visiting, so I didn’t have ready access to my computer and photo editing programs in order to post. All of these are older polishes, but they are new to me.

Anyhow … on with the randomness! Woo Hoo!

essie-bellbottomblues-sm

First up is Essie, “Bell-Bottom Blues”, from the Fall 2015 collection.

Essie is not a “gotta have it” brand for me. I tend not to give their new releases a lot of attention, and I’m not sure it will ever be a brand for which I purchase a lot. But, I sometimes run across older colors that really grab my eye. This polish is definitely one of those!

This is a dark, almost blackened blue, and it has turquoise shimmer running through it. The combination of these two colors is nothing short of fantastically spectacular. In some lights, it looks like a dark and moody navy, and then, you move your hand a bit or catch the light differently, and — boom! — turquoise flash. So, so pretty. I am such a sucker for any kind of blue, so I am pretty positive this one is going to get a lot of love. I can’t wait to wear it as a whole manicure. I only had this on for a quick swatch picture, so I didn’t have any staining. I don’t know how this will be, stain-wise, when I wear it for a longer time. I will probably double up on my base coat for this one, as it is dark and very pigmented.

essie-leggylegend-sm

Next, is Essie, “Leggy Legend”, also from the Fall 2015 collection.

I saw this listed online as a burnished gold foil metallic. On my nails, it looked more bronze, in a way. Or maybe a cross between a dark gold and a bronze. Either way, I love the color. It is gorgeous, luxurious, and rich. I also love the foil finish. I think foils might be one of my favorite polish finishes. I felt like this one showed some brush strokes in my swatch picture, but I think those will even out when I wear it as a complete manicure with top coat. As much as I loved this one and Bell Bottom Blues, I might have to hunt up other polishes from this collection.

opi-venicetheparty-sm

OPI, “Venice the Party”, from the Fall/Winter 2015 Venice Collection.

What?!? Oh my gosh … but I adore this color. Adore it! How the heck did I not already have this polish in my collection? It is such a gorgeous, bright blue, and it looks like a color that would be right up my alley. I am a total and complete blue geek-freak, after all. From my online research, it looks like this was a limited edition shade, so it could be that it was constantly sold out whenever I went to the store to purchase it. At any rate, I’m so, so, soooooo happy I have it now! I love how this polish looks like blown glass on my nails. It is so, so pretty.

savina-meteorites-sm

This is Savina, “Meteorites”. I couldn’t locate much information on this brand or this polish, but this topper looked super pretty in the bottle. Plus, it’s blue … so what could go wrong? I decided to swatch it over gray,and I liked it with this base color. Overall, I like the black and light blue color combination, the varying glitter sizes, and the fact that it’s matte glitter. I had an easy time getting glitters out onto my nails, too. It reminds me of a Color Club polish that I have and love. And I think I might also have a China Glaze topper that is similar to this. At any rate, it was a great price, and I think I will get a decent amount of use out of this.

cg-lubuheels-sm

And, finally, I have China Glaze, “Lubu Heels”. This polish didn’t come from Nordstrom Rack. It was from one of my random drugstore runs over the holiday season. I don’t know when this polish first came out. In my online research, the earliest reference I found to it was from 2008, and I didn’t find a collection name associated with it. I think this is part of China Glaze’s core collection.

This is one of those polishes that the internet made me buy. I have read and watched so many posts and videos talking about how fantastic this polish is. Without that, I am not sure I would have ever picked up this polish. It just isn’t something that appeals to me in the bottle, and I’m not sure how many times I have walked by the display without even noticing it.

I have NO regrets about listening to the wisdom of the internet on this one. I haven’t yet worn this in a full manicure, but I am already in lovey-lust with it. It is so mysterious and dark and rich on the nail. I got it opaque in two coats. The first coat was a bit streaky, although nothing unusual or too surprising. I felt it evened out well and easily with the second coat. I love how the red glitters seem to glisten down deep inside the black base. And I really like the finish on this one, too. I can’t wait to wear it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

