My Week in Nails + December Favorites

I feel like I’m barely under the wire with my polish wrap-up this week. We basically keep no set schedule during the holidays, other than various appointments. My daughter has had a few doctor’s appointments due to a concussion she got in PE right before Winter Break started, and, then, a case of strep throat. Poor kid. Other than that, my parents have been visiting for almost two weeks, so there has been a lot of running around and doing stuff — some errands, but mostly fun things. It’s hard to stick to a schedule with all of that going on.

But (!!) I love doing the weekly polish wrap-up. It’s something I look forward to every week, so I wanted to be sure and get it done and out the door. (So to speak) I’m thinking about doing a “Favorites of 2016”. If I get that together, I’ll probably post it sometime next week, after life more or less returns to normal.

The first two days of this week wrapped up my “Jolly Polish Days” project. I had so much fun doing this, and I hope to do it again next year. I’ve been thinking about ways to incorporate this type of concept into a semi-regular type of blog post. Hopefully more on that later …

Day 24:

zoya-aurora-sm

For Day 24 (Christmas Eve!), I wore Zoya, “Aurora”. We attended the late Mass on Christmas Eve, and I had originally planned to wear a dress that had a lot of purple in it. For a couple of weeks, I had been planning to wear Aurora to go with my dress. On Christmas Eve, it was a bit chillier than I had expected, so I ended up wearing a gray sweater and black slacks. But Aurora was still my go-to gal for polish. I figured it would still look pretty with black and gray. And I was right! But let’s face it: This polish would look pretty with anything. It’s a spectacular polish, all around. As you can tell, I adore this one. It was part of my Zoya Black Friday haul, and I am expecting it to get a lot of love over the coming year.

Day 25:

zoya-blair-sm

For Day 25 (Christmas — Woot!!), I had to wear red. As I keep saying (and saying and saying … *ahem*), I’m not much of a “red” polish person. It’s never been my first or favorite color choice, and I don’t expect that to change. But, I have been making an effort to step out of my comfort zone a bit and expand my love for the reds. At any rate, wearing red on Christmas Day is a bit of a tradition for me. I usually wear my beloved Ruby Pumps, but I decided to try a new polish this year. I chose Zoya, “Blair”.

I like this polish a lot more than I expected to. It’s a beautiful, deep, sort of blackened red. It feels moody and kind of “goth” on the nail. And the finish is amazing. This polish looks like liquid metal. It’s stunning and eye-catching. I got quite a few compliments on it when I wore it.

glampolish-windchill1-sm

Next, I wore Glam Polish, “Windchill”. I had planned to wear this one as part of my Jolly Polish Days, but it didn’t quite make the cut. I bought (and wore) this polish last year, and I decided to use never-worn polishes for Jolly Polish Days in an effort to make a dent in my “I need to wear this” pile. I did end up making a pretty sizable dent in it, but it meant that some old favorites didn’t get their moment in the spotlight.

I love this polish for Winter. It’s such a gorgeous icy blue, and the linear holographic sparks beautifully in the sun. Plus, it has silver flakies, which give it even more of a wintery appearance. This one has a fantastic formula. It’s easy to apply and fun to wear.

sc-elfeduporlyclrblst-savecity-sm

Next, I wore Orly Color Blast, “Save the City” + Sinful Colors, “That’s Elfed Up!” I love this combination. That’s Elfed Up is a limited holiday glitter that has tiny white matte glitters, and different sized metallic hexes in red, green, and gold. I tried it over white first, which looked great, but the tiny white glitters got lost in the mix. After that, I pulled out this lovely light gray, and it was the perfect combination. It ended up that the white glitters were my favorite part because they give this topper a delicate appearance on the nail. I tend to be hit-or-miss with glitter toppers. I don’t always love them, but I’m so happy I picked this one up when I saw it in my local Target.

nwp-igotofftheplane-sm

And, finally, there is Native War Paints, “I Got Off the Plane”. This one was my absolute favorite from the new Friends-themed collection, and I couldn’t wait to wear it. Needless to say, I busted this bad boy out today! It will probably be my polish for the entire weekend, barring chips or horrible tip wear. I love it that much. I adore the steely, gray-blue look to this one. In certain lights, it flashes to purple, which is a beautiful and unexpected look. Mostly, I love how this polish surprised the heck out of me. When I first saw it in the bottle, I felt a little bit “meh” about it. It really just didn’t seem like anything special … Until I got it on my nails. I was totally blown away by it. Even today, I caught myself whispering sweet nothings to this polish as I applied my top coat. What? Doesn’t everyone tell their polish how pretty it is and how much they love it? Nail polish needs love too, you know!

As we wrap up 2016 and head into a brand new year, I wish the best for everyone out there. Have fun but stay safe. And I wish you all a happy and joyful new year.

December Favorites:

I almost forgot to include my favorites for the month of December! I had my post all done and uploaded, and had to come back to add this part in. It blows my mind that we are at the end of December already. I feel like this month has flown by at super-sonic, light speed.

I had a hard time picking favorites this month, because I wore a LOT of polish. But I gave it my best effort.

ninezero-reflect-sm

Nine Zero Lacquer, “Reflect”

zoya-blaze-sm

Zoya, “Blaze”

zoya-saint-sm

Zoya, “Saint”

cdc-winterydust-sun1-sm

Colores de Carol, “Wintery Dust”

cdc-pine2-sm

Colores de Carol, “Pine”

zoya-aurora-sm

Zoya, “Aurora”

nwp-igotofftheplane-sm

Native War Paints, “I Got Off the Plane”

Leave a Reply

