My Week in Nails: Jolly Polish Days, Week 2

Here we are … Friday at last! Funny how Friday manages to come around about this time every week. It’s also funny how I am always — ALWAYS — so freaking ready for it to arrive. One of these days, I’m going to have an easy week, and Friday will come around without me realizing it. And without me breathing a huge sigh of relief.

This, however, is not that week. Today is my daughter’s last day of school before Winter Break starts. We need this every year, but this year, in particular, I feel like we are barely hanging on to sanity with the tips of our fingernails. (Hope I don’t ruin my mani! Ha!) On Monday, my daughter’s PE class was playing basketball. One of her classmates was passing the ball to her, didn’t aim well, and ended up smacking my daughter full-on in the face. Right in the kisser. It was a hard hit, and she ended up with a headache and some cuts in her mouth from her braces. On Wednesday, she called me to pick her up early from school because her headache was terrible. It turns out that she had PE that morning, and got hit in the head two more times. Argh! One trip to the pediatrician later, we learned that she has a concussion. Thanks a lot, PE teacher and clumsy classmates. Seriously, Winter Break can’t come soon enough. Even though I’m not at all ready for Christmas or for the impending arrival of my houseguests.

As is the case most weeks, nail polish was my bright spot. I love to do my nails when I’m stressed. It brings me a sense of peace and well-being. And it makes me feel good about myself. I guess I could say that Jolly Polish Days has been saving my December, one day at a time.

DAY 10:

marble-opi-yogatagetthisbluefiveandten-sm

My husband’s office Christmas party fell on day 10. I decided to wear a gray sweater — sparkly, but still gray, black pants, and black shoes. Since my clothing choices were kind of tonal, I wanted something a bit more colorful and eye-catching for my manicure. So, I turned to my favorite water marbling. I swear, if I practice this enough, I am going to get really good at it one of these days. I have made a huge break-through (for me) because I started using tape to protect the skin around my nails. It helped make clean-up so much easier. Yay!

For this manicure, I used OPI, “Yoga-ta Get This Blue!” and “Five and Ten”. I used OPI, “Glitzerland” as the base, and I topped it all with two coats of China Glaze, “Fairy Dust” — you know, because Christmas. Yoga-ta Get This Blue! is stunning. It’s deep, rich, and feels very luxurious on the nail. It quickly became a favorite among my many blue polishes. When I decided I wanted a dark blue for this manicure, I thought of this one immediately. I was happy to find out it did well in the water. Five and Ten is also a gorgeous polish in its own right. It’s got a bit of a gold tint to it, but I feel it leans mostly toward the silver side of life. It spread well, but it was sheer. I decided to use a more yellow-toned gold as my base color, and I’m so happy I did. I love how it gave Five and Ten the look of old, worn white gold.

DAY 11:

cdc-stillwaters-sm

For Day 11, I wore Colores de Carol, “Still Waters”. This polish is a glitter bomb!! It is such a beautiful shade of blue, and I love the combination of micro and holographic glitter. It tosses out gorgeous rainbows, even in indoor lighting. In the sun, it’s like a beautiful, blue disco ball of happiness. Because it’s a glitter, it was a bit of a pain to remove, but no more so than any other glitter-heavy polish. I also liked that this polish didn’t have a gritty or textured feeling on the nail once it dried.

DAY 12:

art-gradient-snowflake-cgraindancedontdesertme-sm

For Day 12, I decided I wanted to paint. I’ve had the urge to do snowflake nails for a while, and I liked the idea of stark white snowflakes against non-traditional dark pink and turquoise. For the gradient, I used China Glaze, “Turned Up Turquoise” and “Don’t Desert Me”. The gold dots are Zoya, “Ziv”, and I topped the snowflakes with China Glaze, “Fairy Dust”.

I had planned to do a three color gradient, but I broke a nail right before this. I had to file all my nails off fairly short, and I didn’t have room for more than two colors in my gradient. I also didn’t feel I had room for more than one snowflake. I decided to alternate nails with the snowflakes and add bits of gold on the others. Overall, I enjoyed this manicure. I have to credit Robin Moses Nail Art (https://www.youtube.com/user/robinmosesnailart) as the inspiration for the snowflakes on this manicure. I am completely addicted to her YouTube channel and beautiful artwork. Watching her paint gave me the courage to give snowflakes a try!

DAY 13:

cdc-regalos-redxmastrees-sm

I decided to do nail art again for Day 13, although something fairly simple. This is Colores de Carol, “Regalos”, with China Glaze, “Peppermint to Be” for the red trees.

I love, love, love Regalos. I think it’s my new favorite crellie. It’s so delicate and pretty and perfect. It reminds me of Christmas wrapping paper, and application is smooth and easy. Sometimes, I feel that crellies can get a bit thick or gunked up with glitter so that they are difficult to apply. That wasn’t the case with this one. I used three fairly thin coats for this manicure. For the trees, I taped off a triangle with regular tape. I originally thought to use stars at the tops of the trees, but I decided to stick with the look of a gold dot. Plus, it was easier and quicker! Overall, I enjoyed this manicure. It felt very playful, festive, and fun. I got a lot of compliments on it. If I ever do this design again, I will do the trees the opposite way, with the base of the tree along the free edge.

DAY 14:

zoya-saint-sm

For Day 14, I wore Zoya, “Saint”. After a few days of nail art, I wanted something simple and easy. Saint fit the bill for that perfectly. This polish is just … Well, it’s nothing short of amazing. I love the color — such a soft, dreamy blue. It does a beautiful color shift from blue to magenta, which I could see on the nail. Unfortunately, it doesn’t show up in my photograph. I did two coats for this manicure, and it was fine. I could see a few low spots in certain bright lighting (like if the sun hit my nails at a certain angle), so I will probably do three coats next time. I also love the smooth, almost pearly finish to this polish.

DAY 15:

cdc-winterydust-sun1-sm

For Day 15, I wore Colores de Carol, “Wintery Dust”. Oh. My. GOSH!!! I’m so in love with this polish. It is delicate and feminine and so, so pretty. It makes me feel pretty to have it on my nails. The linear holographic comes alive in sunlight. It not only throws off the most glorious rainbows, but it brings out the gold tones in the polish. In indirect lighting, this one looks much more silver. (extra picture below)

cdc-winterydust2-sm

DAY 15:

cdc-fruitcake2-sm

For today (Day 15), I decided to round out my week with Colores de Carol, “Fruit Cake”. This polish is fun, fun, fun!! It looks quite dark in the bottle, but it’s a lovely, bright purple shade on the nail. And I love the different colors of square glitters that float through this polish. It has that wonderfully squishy jelly finish on the nail. I ended up using three coats to get this one to even out on my nails.

Leave a Reply

