Zoya Black Friday Haul, Part 1

I went a little bit crazy over the incredible Zoya Black Friday sale. But, you know … Crazy in a good way. Because it’s not possible to have enough nail polish. Ever. I ended up wiping out my entire Zoya wish list, which is both fantastic and sad. Fantastic because … Well, nail polish! Wishlist nail polish! Sad because I shall now have to start a whole new list of Zoya wishes. I picked up 21 polishes and a huge bottle of Zoya Remove from the sale. Yeah, I know. It’s a bit excessive. It’s not like I have a problem, but … I have a problem. Not that I’m ashamed. I’m too busy being happy and excited about new polish. Whee!

I wasn’t expecting my shipment until tomorrow. But it was sitting on my doorstep, waiting for me when I got home from church today. It was like an early Merry Christmas to me! I spent the rest of the afternoon happily researching collection names and trying to pack in as many swatches as I could before I lost the natural light.

zoya-blackfriday2016-haul-sm

I’m not sure how many posts I’ll use for this haul. I was thinking I would break things down to five or six polishes a post in a small effort to keep things from being too overwhelming. So there might be four or five posts, total, by the time all is said and done. I didn’t swatch these in any particular order.

zoya-daisy-sm

This is Daisy. She is from the Spring 2015 Delight Collection. Zoya’s website describes this polish as “a refreshing lemon meringue yellow metallic with an energizing turquoise metallic flash”.

I remember seeing the Delight Collection in Ulta, and lingering over the display. I felt drawn to this particular polish. Well, I do love yellows on my nails, which is strange because I can’t say that yellow is a particular favorite color for me or anything like that. At the same time, I felt unsure about this one because of the turquoise flash in it. It never looked that great in the store lighting, and I wasn’t sure how it would look on my nails. In the end, I picked up (I think) a couple of others from that collection, but I didn’t get this one.

I’m glad I decided to change that and take a chance on it with my Black Friday order! This polish is so, so pretty, and I feel like I will get a lot of use out of it. It has a very soft and almost delicate color and appearance on the nail, and I find I really like the turquoise flash. I don’t feel like the flash shows up as “turquoise” on the nail, but it gives the yellow color a softer, almost creamy appearance. For a yellow, the formula is pretty fantastic. Yellows tend to be streaky and problematic. This one went on slightly streaky for the first coat. It was a little bit difficult to get it to level out. I ended up using two coats for my swatch picture, and I went pretty thick with the second coat, which I kind of “floated” over the nail. In real life, I would likely use three thin coats for this one. I think it’s a great and gorgeous polish, and it’s definitely workable as long as you take your time with it.

zoya-pippa-sm

The other yellow I purchased is Pippa. This polish is from the Summer 2009 La-Di-Da Collection. The Zoya website describes it as an “ultra-bright, sunny, cheerful medium yellow creme”.

Yep. That about says it all for this polish. It’s pretty much just a straight-forward creme. No shimmer. No sparkle. Nothing all that exciting. Except … this color. Wow! This yellow is just gorgeous. It is rich and vibrant, like wearing the sun on your nails. Again, for a yellow, this has a nice formula. I used two rather thick coats for my swatch picture, once again “floating” the second coat over the nail to avoid streaking or picking up polish from my first coat. While this worked well enough for my quickie swatch picture, I think this one would be best with three thinner coats. That’s the way I plan to apply it when I wear it as a manicure. As with Daisy, this is a beautiful polish and very workable as long as you take your time with it and don’t overwork it.

zoya-wednesday-sm

This is Wednesday. She is from the Summer 2012 Beach Collection. The Zoya website describes her as a “faded, dirty medium turquoise with a green undertone and an opaque creme finish.”

This polish has been on my Zoya wishlist for about forever. And a day. Now that I have it in my hot little hands, I can’t figure out why in the world I waited so long to purchase it. I am absolutely in love with this one. It has a perfect formula — almost a one-coater, although I will likely use two coats when I wear this one as a manicure. And this color! It is so beautiful. It’s soft and faded, with a vintage boho vibe to it. I feel like I am going to get a ton of use out of this beautiful polish. It seems like a great color for spring and summer, but also a nice color for fall due to the dusty undertone.

zoya-dillon-sm

This is Dillon, from the Spring 2014 Awaken Collection. The Zoya website describes this polish as a “full coverage, green mint metallic with silver shimmer”.

This is another beautiful color with something of a vintage or boho vibe to it. I feel like this is heightened by the silver shimmer and metallic finish. This polish has a lovely formula. It went on smoothly, and built up easily. It was opaque in two coats. The shimmer looks much stronger on the nail than in the bottle. When combined with the metallic finish of the base color, the shimmer gives this polish an icy, almost frosty look on the nail. I would tend to say “icy” as opposed to “frosty”, since I don’t generally love frosty polishes. I feel like this polish lacks the hard edge most frosts seem to have. I like this one quite a lot, and, as with Wednesday, feel like it is a polish that can easily cross from Spring or Summer into Fall.

zoya-miley-sm

This is Miley, from the Spring 2008 Blissful Collection. The Zoya website describes her as a “pale, delicate lilac creme with a light blue undertone”.

I’m a little on the fence about this polish. I love the color. It is very soft and delicate. I also really like the finish. I would call it more of a crelly than a creme, and I like the squishy appearance it has on the nail. But … This polish is incredibly sheer. It evens out fairly well, although it’s easy to cause streaks or pull polish up from your first coat if  you overwork it. You can’t really rush this one. I used two massive coats for my swatch picture, which, as you can see, wasn’t ideal. I was in a hurry to get my pictures done, but you can see where the polish pulled away from the free edge on a couple of my nails. I feel like this is due to the crelly-ish finish. When I wear this one as a manicure later, I expect to use at least three coats — maybe four — just because this polish is so, so sheer.

 

2 thoughts on “Zoya Black Friday Haul, Part 1

    1. Ooooh! I hope you will post Instagram pics of what you got. I felt like it took FOREVER for my order to come. I was so anxiously awaiting it, even though I knew it would take a while because of the huge amount of sales. It was such a great deal. I still have two polishes to swatch. But I am so thrilled with all the ones I got.

      Like

Leave a Reply

