Polish Favorites: Zoya

Since I just shopped (and shopped … and shopped) the incredible Zoya Black Friday deal, I thought it would be a great time to do this post about my current favorite Zoya polishes. Zoya is a “newer” brand to me. By “newer”, I mean that I’ve only worn and collected Zoya for a couple of years, as opposed to OPI, for example, which has been a favorite brand since I was in high school. Zoya quickly became a favorite and coveted brand for me. Their polishes are five free, cruelty free, and (I think) vegan. And the formulas are typically amazing. I have gotten one or two Zoya polishes with a wonky or difficult formula, but it doesn’t happen often. Another thing I love about Zoya is that it seems they seldom discontinue colors. Pretty much anything I have wanted to find, even from collections that are quite old, has been available on their website. There is one polish, “Phoebe”, that I covet in the most painful polish-junkie way. That particular polish doesn’t seem to be available at all on the  Zoya website, and I haven’t had much luck finding it anywhere else online, either — at least, not for a price I’m willing to pay!

zoya-stassi1-sm

Stasi: Stassi is from the Summer 2014 Bubbly Collection. Zoya describes this as “a brilliant citron green with a gold metallic glaze and holographic finish”. It has a sheer green jelly base that is packed with micro glitter and shimmer, as well as iridescent glitters. It takes 3 coats to get this one opaque, and it builds up to a lightish medium green in color. It kind of surprises me to realize there is a green on my favorites list. But I remember feeling so breathlessly mesmerized when I applied this polish to my nails. It is delicate and shimmery and sparkly and … well, perfect. It can feel a bit thick because you have to use three coats for it, and there’s a ton of glitter and shimmer in here. Even so, this is still perfect to me. I feel like I am wearing bubbles of happiness on my nails when I wear this one.

zoya-brooklyn1-crop-sm

Brooklyn: Brooklyn is from the Spring 2014 Awaken Collection. Zoya describes this polish as a full coverage white-gold metallic shimmer. I’m a fan of gold polishes, generally. But I have to say I think this is my favorite gold polish of Ever. I love the soft look to it on my nails. I love it against my super pale skin tone. I don’t even mind that it tends to show brush strokes. It is just soft and pretty and calm. Please excuse my terrible swatch picture. I thought about taking a new one, but I kind of love that you can see the fill line on the bottle. As you can see, Brooklyn has gotten a lot of love from me!

zoya-finley-sm

Finley: Finley is from the Winter 2016 Urban Grunge Collection. Zoya describes it as “a deep royal purple scattered holo” . This polish is so juicy and gorgeous. I love how deep and purple it is. And the holo … zOMGoodness, the holo!!! It is sparkly and gorgeous and just beyond perfect. And I don’t even love purple all that much. This one is too good not to love. Even though it is a newer polish in my collection, it quickly became a favorite. I have found that I love all of Zoya’s scattered holographics. With my recent Black Friday order, I think I was able to complete my collection of these polishes. I might do a post highlighting them, because they are just that fantastic and beautiful.

zoya-dream1-sm

Dream: Dream is from the Holiday 2013 Zenith Collection. Zoya describes it as “a full-coverage, deep space blue with holographic glitter”. Dream was my holo gateway polish. This is the first holographic polish I ever wore, and it floored me. It beyond floored me. I was so obsessed with this polish when I got it. I did not want to take it off. Ever. Before Dream, I never knew I could wear the universe on my finger tips. Now, I do.

zoya-payton1-sm

Payton: Payton is from the Holiday 2013 Zenith Collection. Zoya describes it as “a full-coverage, galactic cranberry with holographic glitter”. Needless to say, Payton, Finley, and Dream are all cousins. Payton had me at hello. I love the deep, almost vampy cranberry wine color to this polish. And then, when you contrast it with the holographic glitter … It is FANTASTIC. I feel so fancy when I’m wearing this on my nails.

zoya-cinnamon1-small

Cinnamon: Cinnamon is from the Fall 2015 Flair Collection. Zoya describes this as “a classic bronze liquid metal”. And that’s exactly why I adore it. It’s not brown. It’s not copper. It’s not gold. It is all of those things. And it has the prettiest golden shimmer to it in the light. It doesn’t really show brushstrokes for me, and I love how it looks with my super pale skin. It’s a warm and cozy sort of polish to me, and I love that. I particularly love to wear this in the Fall.

zoya-muse-sm

Muse: Muse is from the Summer 2014 Bubbly Collection. Zoya describes this as “a blue raspberry holographic fizz with a subtle vein of gold”. I’m not sure about the “raspberry” part, but this is a gorgeously different and unique blue. It has a beautiful depth to it that the iridescent glitters highlight perfectly. After falling so hard for Stassi, I knew I had to have this polish, too. Hello, it’s blue!!! I think this one will remain a favorite of mine for quite some time to come. It’s so fun and playful on the nail, but also makes me feel very feminine when I wear it.

zoya-merida-sm

Merida: Merida is from the Winter 2016 Urban Grunge Collection. Zoya describes it as “a brilliant lush evergreen scattered holo”. So, you didn’t really think I would put together a favorites list without including this one, did you? Yeah … not possible. Again, I’m shocked that there is a green on my favorites list. But this polish is so amazingly gorgeous. I love the way the scattered holographic bounces off of the base color. And the base color is stunning. It’s deep and dark with a cool blue undertone. I just love everything about it.

zoya-amy1-sm

Amy: Amy is from the Summer 2013 Irresistible Collection. Zoya describes this as “a full-coverage, red orange foil metallic”. For a long time, I did not wear orange nail polish. I told myself it would look terrible with my skin tone. I told myself I did not like orange. I told myself … Well, I told myself lots of things. And I didn’t buy orange polish. Until I found Amy. (This was not super long ago, either. Maybe 8 or 9 months?) After I wore this polish, I was like, “Oh, yaaaas!! I need all the orange things!!” Now, I’m a fan of orange polish. Big-time. All because of my beloved Amy. I adore how juicy and rich this color is, and I love the finish to the polish. It really is fantastic.

zoya-rebel-sm

Rebel: Rebel is from the Spring 2014 Awaken Collection. Zoya describes this as “a full-coverage blue sky metallic with a silver shimmer”. I love how soft and delicate this polish is. I love the light blue color. It makes me feel like I’m wearing the summer sky on my nails. This one is beautiful in the sunlight, but it also looks magical in indirect lighting or shade.

zoya-sarah1-sm

Sarah: Sarah is from the Winter/Holiday 2010 Fire and Ice Collection. Zoya describes this as “pearls of dark fuschia, red-violet, and ruby tones in a bright sparkle finish”. This is another of my very favorite reds. I don’t really see the fuschia in it, but the color is deep and rich and gorgeous. Combined with the metallic finish, it makes for a fantastic and unique polish. I also feel like I see some gold undertone or shimmer to this one, which gives it an extra bit of warmth and depth.

Leave a Reply

