My Week in Nails

I am continuing on my quest to swatch and wear all of my “new” (as in never worn by me) polishes. It’s a huge task, as I am such a polish addict that I keep on getting new stuff. Argh! The struggle is real, my friends. The struggle is real.

Here’s what I wore this week …

opi-shhhitstopsecretfivebelow-partypooper-sm

I started off the week wearing one of my fun, new glitter toppers. This is Five Below, “Party Pooper” over OPI, “Shhh … It’s Top Secret!” This topper is so much fun. I love that the larger smiley faces and hearts come out onto the nail pretty easily. I didn’t have to struggle with this topper much at all. And I didn’t have to fish for the glitters, either. I really like the mix of blue and pink hexes. The only thing I don’t like about this topper is the “poop” emoticon glitters. As I said in my earlier haul post, I could totally live without those.

“Shhh … It’s Top Secret!” is a polish I liked quite a bit. It is a rich, deep brown. I was surprised that it looked almost black indoors, as it doesn’t look black to me in the bottle. It has a great formula. It was opaque in two easy, breezy coats with no muss and no fuss. I think I might like it a tad more if there was a bit of gold shimmer in it or something. But I can’t complain too much about that, as it’s a beautiful creme with a terrific formula.

cg-rodeofanaticfivebelow-elsa-sm

Next, I wore China Glaze, “Rodeo Fanatic” with Funky Fingers, “Elsa” on three accent nails (middle finger, pinky, and thumb). I liked the combination of these two a lot. It has a very chilly, wintery sort of feeling to it. I also like the way the lighter, almost silvery, blues in the glitter coordinated with the darker blue of this base polish. “Elsa” is a very pretty glitter. I think the combination of larger hexes and small micro-glitters give it a dainty feeling.

“Rodeo Fanatic” is an older China Glaze polish. It’s from the 2008 Rodeo Diva Collection, but it’s new to MY collection. It is a gorgeous and rather moody blackened blue. I don’t think I would say it has “shimmer” exactly, but it has a very smooth, reflective, almost metallic appearance on the nail. I found this polish easy to work with, and it was opaque in two thinner coats. The one drawback is that I had some staining on the glitter nails. I didn’t have staining on the nails that only had Rodeo Fanatic on them, so I’m guessing it had something to do with how the glitter’s base reacted with this polish.

cg-themoretheberrier-sm

For my next manicure, I chose China Glaze, “The More, The Berrier”. This polish is from the Winter/Holiday 2016 collection. It’s a beautiful, pink-toned red. Neither red nor pink are favorite colors of mine. But … Put them together, and it creates something pretty fantastic. I feel like this has a bit of a foil finish on the nail. It is soft and a bit shimmery. It feels very festive for the upcoming holidays, and I enjoyed this color against my super-pale skin tone.

superchic-rosebuddy-sm

Next, I wore Superchic Lacquer, “Rose Buddy”. This. Is. FANTASTIC. I have to admit I bought this polish on a whim. I loved how it looked in the online swatches I saw, but I wasn’t at all sure I would like it on my own nails. So I delayed wearing it for a while. I guess I didn’t want to face up to it if I had made a huge mistake in buying it.

Why, oh why did I wait so long?!? I have no idea. Because I loved this. It’s so soft and pretty. The holographic in this is insane. It looks amazing in the sunlight. In indirect light, you have this beautifully feminine color that I felt was flattering on my nails and against my skin tone. This one goes on easily in one coat — for the most part. I needed two coats on a couple of my nails. Application was super easy, and the formula is buttery and perfect. This one is destined to be a favorite!

opi-richbrazilian-sm

This is OPI, “Rich & Brazilian”, from the Winter/Holiday 2016 Breakfast at Tiffany’s Collection. This polish is so beautiful. It is a deep, dark purple/plum color with tons of pink-toned shimmer running through it. In some lights, I felt like the shimmer looked golden. In other lights, it looked warm and reddish-pink. In every light, it looked amazing. The formula was great on this one. I didn’t have to struggle with it at all, and it was opaque in two easy coats.

cdc-grandpasclock-sm

This is Colores de Carol, “Grandpa’s Clock” over OPI, “Rich & Brazilian”.

I ordered the entire Colores de Carol Winter/Holiday Collection, which will be the subject of a blog post very soon. (Probably right after I finish this post, actually!) As soon as my much-anticipated Colores de Carol package arrived, I had to try out “Grandpa’s Clock”. It is so, so beautiful in the bottle, and I could not wait to get it on my nails. I was not disappointed. I think it is gorgeous on the nail, especially over a darker color like “Rich & Brazilian”.

cdc-inna-sm

For Thanksgiving, I wore Colores de Carol, “Inna”. I have been saving this polish for a couple of months, just because I wanted to wear it for Thanksgiving. It was so worth the wait. I love a matte glitter crelly, and this one is just spectacular. I love the glitter mix in it. I love the colors. It is perfect for Fall and perfect for Thanksgiving. Just looking at it makes me think “Thanksgiving”! I enjoyed this polish best at three thin coats.

cdc-mygman-sm

Finally, I wore Colores de Carol, “My G-Man”. This is the polish I put on this afternoon, after swatching and photographing all of the Colores de Carol Winter/Holiday Collection. This is such a beautiful and unique polish. I love the depth and texture it has. And I love the mix of colors. This one is also destined to be a favorite of mine.

Leave a Reply

