My Week in Nails

This has been a horrible, awful, no-good sort of week for me. I can’t even express how happy I am that Friday is here at last. There aren’t enough words. I think my nail polish was the only thing that kept me going this week, which sounds sad and a little bit pathetic. Or maybe not. I do love me some pretty polish!

zoya-apple-sm

I started out my week with Zoya, “Apple”. I liked this polish, although it wasn’t what I expected. It’s a lovely shade of green, and it built up easily on my nails. But I expected the color to be darker and richer, overall. I also expected it to be a two-coater, whereas I needed three coats to get it opaque. So … I’m not sure how I feel about this one. I love the color, and I like the finish. But my pleasure was marred by those couple of unpleasant surprises I experienced when applying it. I’ll definitely keep it. It’s rare that I ever get rid of a Zoya. I liked the color enough that I think I will genuinely enjoy it the next time I wear it. I think this color works nicely for Fall, but it will also be fun to wear in the Spring and Summer.

orly-breathable-givemeabreak-sm

This is Orly Breathable, “Give Me a Break”. I believe these nail polishes are new from Orly. I saw a whole display for them at my local Walgreens, and I was intrigued. This is supposed to have base coat + color +top coat, all in one polish! I’m a firm believer in using base and top coat, so I admit I was more than a little skeptical about this. Still, I love Orly, overall, and I decided to give a couple of these a try. I picked this purple and a dustier lavender out of the display.

Overall, I have to say this polish was pretty good. It went on easily and smoothly in two thin coats. The color was beautiful, and it has a shiny finish. It looked great and “finished” on my nails, even without a top coat. Wear isn’t much of an issue for me because I tend to change my polish out fairly frequently. I wore this for a day and a half or two days, and it wore pretty well. I had a little bit of tip wear at the end of that time, but I did not take it easy on this manicure, either. I even did dishes without gloves, just to see how the polish would hold up. The polish also came off easily, with no staining.

I don’t know that I would wear this brand or polish regularly. But, if you’re in a hurry to get your manicure done, something like this would be a lifesaver.

sinfulcolors-copperpot-sm

Next, I wore Sinful Colors, “Copper Pot”. This is the most delicious Fall color. I’m not sure I can say much more about it. It really is the color of a copper pot on my nails. The orangey-coppery color has flecks of gold mixed into it, which gives this polish a beautiful glow in pretty much all types of lighting. I feel like it shows some brush strokes in my photo, but those were not apparent at all in real life. Overall, just a pretty pretty color with a great formula. I liked this one a lot.

opi-sunrisebedtime-sm

This is OPI, “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” (the solid color) + OPI, “Sunrise … Bedtime!” (the glitter). I was so excited to get my hands on Breakfast at Tiffany’s this week. Finally!! I have been looking for this polish ever since the collection first came out. It was sold out online. I waited for it to come to my local stores. Even though I checked back frequently, this color sold out right away. This week, I checked at Ulta yet again, and they had two bottles of it left. Score!! On a whim, I also picked up the Sunrise … Bedtime! glitter topper. I hadn’t planned on getting either of the glitters from this collection, but this one really looked so pretty in the bottle. I love that it has a lot of pink tones in it, which is weird because I’m not usually a pink gal at all.

I love both of these polishes. And I LOVED this manicure. It felt very light, airy, and refreshing on my nails. I felt feminine and dainty wearing this. I’m so happy I was able to get Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I know that polish has gotten mixed reviews, but I really love it. It took three coats to be opaque, but I didn’t have any trouble with the coats streaking or pulling. Each coat dried very quickly. It dries down matte, but it looks amazing once you put a top coat on it. I like this polish so much that I may purchase a back-up of it — if I can find one, that is.

gradient-cdc-sapphprincess-prototype-oldorchard-sm

This is Colores de Carol, “Sapphire Princess” (the darkest blue) + “Prototype” (the mid-tone blue, pictured in the bottle) + “Old Orchard” (the lightest blue). I decided I wanted to try another gradient, so I went with all blue tones this time. You can see I kind of messed up on my pinky. The colors got too muddied up, so the lightest blue doesn’t show at all. Overall, I’m happy with how this turned out. I had a slight problem with my cuticles flooding, which was probably due to overzealous sponging. I think this gradient blended out smoothly, and I love these three colors together. I like this one so much that I still have it on my nails two days later! That is saying a lot!

Leave a Reply

